1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help on design of customer database in Access 2007

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by bekah3475, Feb 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bekah3475

bekah3475 Thread Starter

I am a beginner trying to design a customer database in Access 2007 for my company. They sent me to 2 full days of classes on Access and I am still having trouble.

I mostly understand all of the basic concepts of Access, but the design part is hard for me. I half understand the point of normalizing and am having trouble with the concept that nothing can be repeated.

Every customer has a different amount of information. Some customers have 2 addresses (physical and mailing), some don’t. Some customers have 5 email addresses and 3 phone number and some have 1 email address and 1 phone number.

In my database, I want to include:

-Customer name
    -Address(es)
    -Phone number(s)
    -Fax numbers(s)
    -Email(s)
    -Contact Person(s)
    -Notes Section

Pretty much the same info as a contact card in outlook, but in database form.

So from what I learned in class, my understanding is that anything that has more than one option should be made into a separate table. Then you should link them up through the relationships. What is the most efficient way to design this?

Please help! My boss thinks that this should be a super easy task and it’s not for me…

2. rbalaji

rbalaji