1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help Please with Firewall

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jackjak, Jul 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jackjak

jackjak Thread Starter

Hi Folks

I run a duel boot system with Win ME on the C: drive and Win XP Pro on the D: Partition. I have been running XP now for about 6 months with no problems, till the other day when I logged on and I noticed the Firewall did not start up. The firewall I use is Sygate 5.6 freeware. I went to my program menu and clicked on Sygate to start there, but nothing happens, so I right click on the menu and click go to target , that takes me to D:\program files\sygate\spf\smc.exe. Again if I double click on the application in the dir still nothing happens, it's as if it does not exist any more, yet the dir and sub folders with files are still there. Can any one please help me with this...

Thanks

Jak...

2. Tabvla

Tabvla

Jak, my best guess is that some file in your application is corrupt.

Suggest that you download a fresh version of the software and reinstall. It would also be advisable if you uninstalled the current version to ensure that you make a fresh start.

3. CouchMaster

CouchMaster

That happened to me once with Sygate and I never did figure out what the problem was - I suspect that it was eventually windows updates that corrupted my setup - but I had to reinstall my OS to correct the problem. Good luck, and I'll be watching this thread to see if a solution is found.

4. Tabvla

Tabvla

And.... I forgot.

If none of this works then simply uninstall the Sygate Firewall and download the free version of ZoneAlarm.