1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: help reformatting my computer.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Tedejc, Apr 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Dvk01 in Virus & Other Malware Removal, was not able to find a solution to my Trojan. Suggested reformatting to clean and get rid of whatever it is. Any suggestions on the best way to do this? I’m planning on saving my files to the separate hard drive. Dvk01 said that should not be infected.

    I’m at work now, I’ll run the TSG when I get home in about an hour.

    Thank you for any suggestions you can add. Below is the computer I’m looking at reformatting.



    HP Pavilion dv6000
    Microsoft W. XP
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 3
    HP
    AMD Turion 64X2 Mobile TL-50
    803MHz 960MB of Ram.
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,206
    First Name:
    Frank
    The HP Pavilion dv6000 series laptop has 19 models listed at the HP support site.

    Advise us what the product number(P/N) and/or model number(M/N) on the sticker is so we can confirm the exact model you have.

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    I believe the dv6000 series laptops came with Windows XP.

    What's the complete version of Windows that's on the Microsoft COA sticker that has the 25-character product key?

    You've posted in the "Windows 7" section, so I'm not sure at this point if you have Windows XP or Windows 7 in that laptop.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    There's a product model number, CM1730.
    The Key tag is saying 'Windows 7 Prem OA'.

    Thanks
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,206
    First Name:
    Frank
    This is what you submitted in post #1:

    HP Pavilion dv6000
    Microsoft W. XP
    Version 2002
    Service Pack 3
    HP
    AMD Turion 64X2 Mobile TL-50
    803MHz 960MB of Ram


    That tells us your HP Pavilion dv6000 series laptop is running Windows XP SP3.

    This is what you submitted in post #4:

    There's a product model number, CM1730.
    The Key tag is saying 'Windows 7 Prem OA'


    That tells us your laptop came with Windows 7.

    I'm confused. :confused:

    Did that laptop come with Windows XP or Windows 7 and is it running Windows XP or Windows 7?

    CM1730 is not a valid HP product number/model number.

    It should be 2 sets of characters separated by a # symbol.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Could you please download and run the TSG SysInfo Utility and past your specs in your next post.
     
  7. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    O! And the HP Pavilion dv6000 came with Windows XP Home. The HP Pavilion dv6- series came in a number of models and came with Windows 7. For example, the HP Pavilion dv6-6124ca came with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,206
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm not sure at this point if he has a dv6000 series or a dv6-6000 series laptop.

    The product number would confirm that.

    ------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Hold on. My lap top was the old computer. the Hard drive blew so we got the desk top. I know I switched it all over. I thought I did, I know I used you guys to get advise on the next computer we got. Let me take a look, I'll get back to you. I'm running a scan on MSE right now, I will run the TSG as soon as that's done. So sorry for the confusion.

    I've got Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1
    AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 Processor 2.88GHz
    4.00 GB of Ram
    64-bit Operating System

    I'll switch it over now in my profile.
     
  10. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 220 Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 4095 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 943841 MB, Free - 888482 MB; F: Total - 953859 MB, Free - 833610 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., CM1730,CM1830
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,206
    First Name:
    Frank
    Now that we got all that confusion out of the way, is that desktop a ASUS Essentio CM1730 or some other brand/model?

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    It's the ASUS Desktop PC CM1730 Series. i cannot find the word "Essentio" any where though.
     
  13. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Is this your system? Essentio CM1730 According to Asus, you restart the PC and start tapping F9 and this should bring you to the System Recovery option. From there you will be able to bring the system back to factory defaults.
     
  14. Tedejc

    Tedejc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Why yes that's it. I see it now, it's says Asus Essentio series right on the front of the box, in front of my blind eyes. Thank you. I'll be able to get this started on Wednesday. Thank you very much Lance1.
     
  15. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,602
    Your most Welcome. Let us know how things progress.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved help reformatting
  1. Diamondb123
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    80
  2. CalebLB
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    155
  3. Saba123
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    187
  4. mkdsk
    Replies:
    53
    Views:
    1,213
  5. seaberry
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    689
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1095415

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice