1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: HELP!!!! Windows 7 System dump when enabling wifi

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by pfeix, Aug 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Hi and thank you for your time and help.

    I am running Windows 7 Professional that came installed on the Aspire 3830T TimelineX. I see the network adapter in the device manager. I checked to make sure that the driver is up to date, and it is.

    But, when I try to enable the driver, the system crashes...Blue Screen and system dump, then comes up and asks how I want to restart the computer.

    How do I enable this adapter without causing the crash. I am writing from a different computer.

    Thank you.
    pfeix :(
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    i cant read the mini-dumps - other members may be able to and help here

    however , can you explain exactly what you mean by enable the adapter - is this from device manager and right clicking on the devices
    often PCs have switches or use a combination of the FN and F keys to switch wireless on/off

    I would remove the adapter and update the driver

    the drivers are here
    http://us.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/drivers
    - there a few for the network adapters - so not sure which one you have or which one you have the problem with
     
  3. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Hi Etaf,
    Thank you for writing. Yes, I enabled the driver in the device manager but that is when it crashed. The link you gave me is where I had already obtained the driver update, It says my driver is up to date. But, the system keeps crashing when I go to the device manager and try to enable it.


    Thanks for your time and help. Much appreciated.

    Pam
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    have you tried removing the adapter and then restarting the PC and allowing windows to detect new hardware and re-install
     
  5. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    No...I was afraid if I uninstalled it that I would lose it. If I lose the adapter, how do I get it back?

    Thanks.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    that is always a possibility if the machine is faulty
    and if its a hardware fault - then it would need to be repaired
    OR
    it maybe a re-installation of windows would work

    did you get any recovery DVD/CDs with the PC - some are still provided on some makes - however, i'm certain ACER now only provide a recovery partition - and you have to make your on DVD/CDs usually prompted when you first start the PC out the box
     
  7. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    I did not get any recovery cd's with the notebook. I will look on the Acer site to see about a recovery partition. The notebook does not have a CD/DVD drive. I will see if I can download to my flash drive.

    I am afraid to uninstall it. I have to see if there is another way. I just cannot afford to lose any programs on this.

    Thanks so much.
    Pam
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    your only uninstalling the adapter
    but sounds like you also need to make a backup of your data as well -and if really important you should have two copies of the data stored off the PC

    the recovery manager should enable you to make a bootable recovery usb drive
    this is how to make DVD/CDs
    http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/desktop/0000/Acer/AspireE360/AspireE360faq67.shtml

    cant find an option to create a USB :( - I'll keep looking

    you can buy recovery CDs here
    http://us-store.acer.com/rcd/
     
  9. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you for all your time and help. Much appreciated! :)
     
  10. pfeix

    pfeix Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Etaf,
    It worked. I went to device manager, uninstalled and then rebooted the computer. It found the hardware and Voila! I have wireless internet. Thank you SOOOOO much.
    Pam :)
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    your welcome (y) - glad you decided to give it a go
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064662