1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help with Formula please.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Jacojs, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jacojs

Jacojs Thread Starter

Hi.

I can't get this formula to work.Countifs(H7:HL7,"FR")

As it is it works fine but when adding a second criteria range that searches for "FR" as well I get a #value returned.

It's a simple little leave planner but I am a noob so any help will be greatly appreciated.

The spreadsheet is attached.

Thanks
    Jaco.

Attached Files:

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    No problem I can see:

I put the formula in yellow cell and it counts 2 FR

Attached Files:

3. Jacojs

Jacojs Thread Starter

Hi.

Thanks for the reply but I will try to explain better.

The formula that is working is currently in C81 and it reads =countifs(H7:AL7,"FR") This is just for the first employee and for January (row H7 to AL7)

When I change the formula for the same person to include February the formula reads
    =countifs(H7:AL7,"FR",D13:AE13,"FR") however I dont get a value returned. This needs to be done up to December. Obviously If I can get it working for one person and one criteria the rest won't be a problem.

If anything is unclear or you need more info please let me know.

Again thanks for the help.
    Jaco.

4. Keebellah

First Name:
    Hans
    I just put this in for the syntax, you will of course have to change it to cover the necessary fields.
    My suggestion, and well there ra emany more since its'hadn work to create new sheetw for every year, but thtá besides the point.
    I have a very simple idea and i'll out in the sheet I have here which will make it easier.

One thing, where do you want the total's displayed?