1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help with processor upgrade

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cbourff96, Dec 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cbourff96

    cbourff96 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I've recently decided to upgrade my processor but I have very little knowledge on the matter. Could I use a processor that has a different socket type than my current one? Also, what if the wattage of the processor is different from my current one. Would this render me unable to use the wanted processor?
    Note: My computer has an AMD E1-1200 processor.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. gberger

    gberger

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    The best way to do this is to identify the make/model of your motherboard and go to the manufacturers website to find out what processors it will support. If you don''t know or can't see the make/model, download System Information for Windows and it will tell you:
    http://www.gtopala.com/
    You can't use a processor with a different socket type. Not sure about voltage. In any case, the mfr web site will tell you all you need to know.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,517
    First Name:
    Frank
    Download and save the

    TSG System Information Utility

    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.

    Information about your computer will appear.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire text here.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. cbourff96

    cbourff96 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    I ran it and this is what I got :
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 8, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD E1-1200 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, AMD64 Family 20 Model 2 Stepping 0
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3794 Mb
    Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 7310 Graphics, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 452558 MB, Free - 419521 MB;
    Motherboard: Gateway, SX2110G
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Disabled

    On a side note...I have an antivirus enabled..
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,517
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Gateway SX2110G is a low-cost small-form-factor desktop.

    It supports up to 8 GB of RAM.
    Since it's running Windows 8(64-bit) and has only 4 GB of RAM, you might consider maxing it out with 8 GB.
    Here is the recommended 8 GB(4 GB x 2) kit for it.

    It has a wimpy 220 watt power supply, so upgrading it to a faster processor or upgrading its AMD integrated graphics to a video card isn't recommended.
    It may not be processor upgradeable anyway.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. cbourff96

    cbourff96 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Ahh dang. Thanks for the help.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083218

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice