1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help with setting up webserver-im a noob

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by smokeyzebra, Feb 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smokeyzebra

smokeyzebra Thread Starter

Hello

I need help with filezilla or my server. The server is running ubuntu 14.04 and filezilla 3.9.0.6. The server is on the LAN network and I dont have a domain name for it. I keep getting the error I have checked windows firewall.

Status: Connection attempt failed with "ECONNREFUSED - Connection refused by server".
    Error: Could not connect to server

2. JiminSA

JiminSA

First Name:
    Jim
    Either there is no FTP server running at that address or some firewall is preventing the connection. If the former then take a look at this

3. smokeyzebra

Thank you for posting. This article is for windows and I am running ubuntu. I have set up LAMP on the server so apache, my sql and php do I need to install any FTP stuff ? I have checked all of the firewalls my PC one, the server and I believe BT dont block port 21 https://forums.powweb.com/showthread.php?t=85050 so ye

4. JiminSA

JiminSA

First Name:
    Jim
    i am not very familiar with Ubuntu FTP processing - especially LAMP. But I'm hoping that this link will give you insight (Section 9. Networking)

5. smokeyzebra

Thank you so much. when I said I was a noob I really am a noob. I didn't install vsftpd, massive face palm ;)

6. JiminSA

JiminSA

First Name:
    Jim
    hey no problem smokeyzebra, just hope you got it sorted!

7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!