1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help with Vista and 2 operation systems

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by mamasan55, Apr 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mamasan55

    mamasan55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 8400 Triple-Core Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 3
    RAM: 2941 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 295680 MB, Free - 215108 MB; D: Total - 9562 MB, Free - 916 MB; E: Total - 305242 MB, Free - 211651 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTek Computer INC., NARRA3
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated and Enabled

    My computer was damaged by a virus, I had to reformated to its original form, but when doing it now I have 2 operational systems on it. When starting the computer it always asked which one to choose. I understand you can fix this by using bcdedit, the problem is I do not know how. Could you please show me how? otherwise it works ok.
    Thank you Yolanda
     
  2. Mark1956

    Mark1956 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
    Click on the Windows key and the R key, type cmd into the box and hit Enter.

    Then copy and paste this at the Command Prompt and hit Enter.

    bcdedit /set {bootmgr} displaybootmenu no

    This will stop the boot menu from displaying and it will boot straight into Windows.
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    bEdedit is not a command. It's bCdedit.
     
  4. mamasan55

    mamasan55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Sorry!!! I did enter it wrong. It gave me a different message. it reads "an unknown command was specified. Run bcdedit/? for command file assistant.

    When I did it gives me a lots of choices, I don't know which to pick.

    Thanks, Yolanda:confused:
     
  5. mamasan55

    mamasan55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Of all the choices I choose "Run bcdedit.exe" it replied "the boot configurtion data stare could not be opened. Access is denied.

    Please help me.

    Thanks, Yolanda :confused:
     
  6. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    The command won't fix your problem. It would just change what you see. You started another thread on this same topic. Since you just did this install, start over again, and this time actually delete both Windows partitions on the drive and create one new one.
     
  7. jrbuergel

    jrbuergel

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    763
    There is a real handy tool application called EasyBCD, which has a free version, found here; http://neosmart.net/EasyBCD/ , and then just find out which one of the 2 Vista listed is your desired correct install, then remove the wrong one using that above EasyBCD program. To find out which is the right one, you can try booting to each one, then you may know from the results.
     
  8. mamasan55

    mamasan55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Sorry I took so long to thank you for your help. The Easy BCD tool works like magic. Thanks again
    Yolanda:D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1049217