Solved: Help!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
I have an issue with a computer at my new job and need assistance. Could someone tell me if there is a way for me to reset an administrator password on Windows XP Professional?

Here is the situation: A former manager at the company put a password into the system for the Admin Password, the person is being charged with crimes with stealing money and the individual will not give the password. I have tried to install a password recovery program on the computer and the admin functions have it locked. I went into user accounts and the admin account for the computer is not listed. I am at a loss, is there something someone could tell me that will help unlock the system so that the schedules and such can be done, the checks can be printed, and the information can be shared with corporate?

Sincerely confused,

Aaron Gaskey :confused: :confused: :confused:
 

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
John,

I can't get it to copy files to the disk...it is just copying the .ISO image. Any suggestions?

Aaron
 

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
John it did not work on the system!! I got into the utilities, changed the passwords to blank, and then quit. Rebooted the system, changed the boot sequence back, and then it kept losing the keyboard.

I can't get into the system setup anymore either. It is really confusing me!! I am truly lost now.

Aaron Gaskey(n) :confused:
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I can't imagine how the password utility did that. :confused: I've used it dozens of times, and it only affects the SAM file and clears one or more passwords.

What "system setup" are you talking about? Are you talking about the BIOS? If so, that has nothing to do with the Windows passwords, or anything else about Windows.
 

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
I had to got into the setup and change the boot order of teh device to get it to work. I restarted the computer, followed all instructions, changed two of the passwords, and now I am unable to get into the system setup again because the keyboard is not intiating. It is a usb keyboard. But when Windows boots up to the logon screen it then lets me use the computer. I am really confused myself. Just thought that you would have run across that a time or two.....

Aaron
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
It sounds like USB support is disabled in the BIOS. I'd find a PS/2 keyboard and plug it in long enough to fix the BIOS configuration.
 

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
John,

I tried the program again last night, changed the password for the specific profile, and still can't get into the system. I am not sure what is going on....any insight into this. I am going to try again tonight and I will give you an update of the situation. I was able to get into the BIOS to fix the boot situation. It is trying to do a scan on the system when it boots back up....and then it freezes....after the scan the old information for the account I am trying to unlock is still there. Any advice on this issue?

Aaron Gaskey
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Try changing the administrator password instead of a specific account. Truthfully, that's all I ever do in this situation, because I know that account will have administrative rights. :)
 

gaskeyenterprise

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
20
The person that set this system up made the specific User the administrator. The administrator password was changed already..........not sure what to do from this point. Any suggestions?

Aaron
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
At this point, I'd remove the disk and put it in another machine to recover the data.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top