1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Help!!! :(

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dpride, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    hello,

    we are having trouble with our router/computers, and i'm hoping that you can help me. we had a dell inspiron 6000 laptop and a gateway desktop and a linksys router, and everything was working just fine, and then my husband had a trojan try to mess with his laptop, and ever since then, we have been unable to connect both the dell laptop and the gateway desktop to the internet at the same time. the message that we get when we try to connect the second computer is as follows:

    Windows - System Error
    There is an IP address conflict with another system on the network

    i just purchased a second laptop, thinking maybe i'd get lucky and it would work, but it does not...no matter what, i can only connect one computer at a time. i'm going crazy, and i don't have any clue what to do...please HELP!!! :( let me know what information i need to get to you for you to help me...

    thanks a bunch!
    diana pride
     
  2. JohnnyP

    JohnnyP

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    Do this on both computers...

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    I have tried what you said on both computers, but, on both, the windows pop up real fast and then disapear. What can I do to make the windows stay open so I can copy and paste?
     
  4. JohnnyP

    JohnnyP

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    137
    when you get to the Run windown where it says Open did you type CMD and press enter the open the black window then tye the IPCONFIG /ALL ?
     
  5. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Yes, I was forgetting the CMD. Ok, we did all three of our computers. The first (1) is a laptop and was online when the trojan attack took place.
    The second (2) is a brand new laptop, so it should not be the problem since today is the first day we tried it.
    Third (3) is the desktop, I'm not sure if this was online for the trojan or not. It is the main computer that everything is hooked up to. When we do try to get online, at the bottom of the browser page it says something like... res/ieframe.dll/dsnerror.htm.
    The desktop is the only on doing this. The others work online fine, individually.

    (1)
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\David Pride>IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D74KGZ81
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
    roller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-14-22-EF-F0-6A

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network
    Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-C5-1C-C2
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.56.222.66
    24.56.222.67

    C:\Documents and Settings\David Pride>

    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


    (2)
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Diana>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Diana-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-D9-35-3C-23
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : us.dell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-A3-5F-2E
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.us.dell.com
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{12610BDB-9CA2-420C-9530-0377C6FBE
    BDD}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Diana>

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



    (3)

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Diana Pride>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name : dianapride
    Primary Dns Suffix :
    Node Type: Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled: No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific Dns Suffix:
    Description: Intel (R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    Physical Address: 00-03-47-ED-88-47
    Dhcp Enabled: Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    IP Address: 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server: 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers: 192.168.15.1
    Lease Obtained: Monday, November 12, 2007 5:44:51 PM

    Lease Expires: Tuesday, November 13, 2007 5:44:51 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Diana Pride>
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,557
    First Name:
    Terry
    D74KGZ81 has a manually assigned IP address. Is 192.168.1.100 outside the Dhcp server's address range?
     
  7. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Ok, I have no clue who that is. Can you tell me what to do to fix this?
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,557
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are you indicating that .100 is within the range? If so, change the range or change the IP address.
     
  9. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Actually, all you had to do is turn off ALL the units, computers and router. Then turn on the router, give it a minute, then boot the computers. :)

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,557
    First Name:
    Terry
    Maybe. But not if that manually assigned .100 was in the Dhcp server's address range. I never got a straight answer to my questions, but that link the OP provided is how to change TCP/IP properties to dynamic. :)
     
  12. dpride

    dpride Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Actually, shutting everything down did not fix it. I had tried that before coming to this forum, a couple of times.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/651022

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice