1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: High (60%+) packet loss in Windows 7, but not in Express Gate (Linux based)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by WestonN, Jan 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WestonN

WestonN Thread Starter

Hey,

I've been having this problem where I'm losing a very high percentage of my packets (40-92%), when I'm running in Window 7 64 bit. However, when I use the Asus Express Gate (which I understand is based on SplashTop which runs in Linux), I get 0% packet loss.

This problem only seems to happen on this connection. I have used the computer extensively on other connections with 0% loss.

I am not a computer expert, so I apologize if I dont know the right term to use. If it is not clear, post something, and I will clarify asap.

Determined packet loss using pingtest.net and using the cmd window to ping google.com.

Attempted fixes:

*updated LAN drivers

*restarted modem

*Disabled Firewall and Antivirus

*Had my ISP reset the connection from their end

*reset hardware (take battery out, unplug, then hold power button down for 45 sec)

*A service technician from my ISP came out and could find nothing wrong with the connection. The signal strength was good.

I havent reloaded the operating system yet. I'm told it is unlikely to solve the problem since it has been happening since i got the computer. I would like to avoid this if possible lol.

Thanks for any input you have. I'm willing to try anything if it might help.

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Ethernet? First suspicion is an incorrect or corrupted driver, but if the computer works when connected to other networks the driver is probably OK.