1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: High CPU Usage + Host Service Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by honeyking, Jun 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. honeyking

honeyking Thread Starter

In the past few days I have noticed a very strange and extremely aggravating change in my computer.

I draw digitally for a living, and I noticed that every so often (sporadically, not evenly spaced) my cursor would simply stop communicating for a second, just long enough to confuse my drawing program, making me have to Alt+Tab out, and back in before it would recognize the pen on the tablet again. At first I believed this was my tablet's fault, but after a day of dealing with this, I began to look more closely at my friend Windows Task Manager.

I noticed that every so often the CPU Usage would spike--dramatically. Never for more than a second, but just long enough to eat a huge chunk of the CPU Usage, and so I began a few google searches to see what I could find, just to give me some kind of idea. Through Windows Task Manager, and the Resource Monitor, I was able to pinpoint specifically one .exe that was causing a lot of usage: SVCHOST.EXE

I studied the many SVCHOST.EXE services, and finally began to force End Task the ones that ran under my User Name. My computer continued to run fine, no program crashes, and to my amazement, the CPU Usage significantly dropped! The only problem is that SVCHOST.EXE restarts itself no matter how many times I try to close it, and I'm at the end of my capabilities alone.