1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: High Ram usage and High Fluctuating Cpu usage?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by BananaExtremist, Dec 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BananaExtremist

    BananaExtremist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, I am a newbie at computers so please instruct me on what to do if I am missing any information or anything. Thank you!
    Basicly, I have been experiencing high RAM usage and fluctuating computer usage for a while now, and I have no idea what to do. Please help! Pic below shows what's on the Task Manager while only opening one tab on chrome and no other applications.
    [​IMG]

    System info here:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 6048 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 610M, -2048 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 300061 MB, Free - 115563 MB; D: Total - 389739 MB, Free - 374956 MB;
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer Inc., K43SD
    Antivirus: AVG Internet Security 2013, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    that all looks perfectly normal for W7

    what is the point of having ram if it isn't used
    Windows by design will try to use as much physical ram as it can

    it is using 2.7 out of 6gb and has cached another almost 2gb for when it is quickly needs, for example if you open a large image or document on a webpage or your computer etc and still leaves 1.5gb for other use.

    I don't see any problem, whatsoever

    if you are having slowdowns or freezes or other strange behaviour then please specify what is actually happening. But windows using as much ram as it can is exactly what it is supposed to do
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,818
    First Name:
    Frank
    B E:

    Derek brings out a good point.
    The purpose of having RAM in a computer is for it to be used and not to sit idle.
    Using actual RAM is faster than using "virtual memory" from the hard drive.

    The Windows Task Manager is showing 125 running processes.
    It's my guess your computer has too many programs and services auto-starting and running in the background.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. BananaExtremist

    BananaExtremist Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Oh well, thx for the help!
     
  5. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    if you have high cpu then there might be something wrong so

    follow advice here and post all the logs those programs make,so we can get an idea what is wrong.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1115202

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice