Solved: home network access denied

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Parsleys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
21
I have 3 pc's. Comp A is hooked to a wireless router and modem via ethernet cable. Comp B and C are connected thru wireless adapters. All comps can access the internet.
the problem is i need to file share between the 3 comps. Comp C can access all the others. Comp A and B are able to access each other and they "see" all 3 on the workgroup, but they can not access Comp C. There is the error "\\$$$$ is not accessible. You might not have permission...The Network path is not found"
I have read thru the threads and tried to ping C, it comes up as "request timed out"
so...help?
SuzAnne
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
Probably a 3rd party firewall on C is blocking access. If so, uninstall it or properly configure for LAN access.
 

Parsleys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
21
I have disabled windows and Mcafee firewalls on C and have just finished checking thru the network protocols. Everything seems to match the properties on A and B.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Failure to PING is almost always a firewall component on one of the computers. You need to check again for firewalls. :)
 

Parsleys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
21
any clues where firewalls are hidden?
I'm going thru processes and i don't see any
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen. :)
 

Parsleys

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
21
i found another firewall...seems macafee didn't like my removing the firewall on the one comp. it made windows my default...so each time i switched off one firewall the other would click on. i uninstalled mcafee.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
That makes sense... well not really, but that's how too many software packages work! :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top