1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: home network access denied

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Parsleys, Jan 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Parsleys

    Parsleys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    I have 3 pc's. Comp A is hooked to a wireless router and modem via ethernet cable. Comp B and C are connected thru wireless adapters. All comps can access the internet.
    the problem is i need to file share between the 3 comps. Comp C can access all the others. Comp A and B are able to access each other and they "see" all 3 on the workgroup, but they can not access Comp C. There is the error "\\$$$$ is not accessible. You might not have permission...The Network path is not found"
    I have read thru the threads and tried to ping C, it comes up as "request timed out"
    so...help?
    SuzAnne
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,805
    First Name:
    Terry
    Probably a 3rd party firewall on C is blocking access. If so, uninstall it or properly configure for LAN access.
     
  3. Parsleys

    Parsleys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    I have disabled windows and Mcafee firewalls on C and have just finished checking thru the network protocols. Everything seems to match the properties on A and B.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Failure to PING is almost always a firewall component on one of the computers. You need to check again for firewalls. :)
     
  5. Parsleys

    Parsleys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    any clues where firewalls are hidden?
    I'm going thru processes and i don't see any
     
  6. Parsleys

    Parsleys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    ok dokie, this one is solved...thanks
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    What was the resolution?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the upper right of the screen. :)
     
  9. Parsleys

    Parsleys Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    i found another firewall...seems macafee didn't like my removing the firewall on the one comp. it made windows my default...so each time i switched off one firewall the other would click on. i uninstalled mcafee.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That makes sense... well not really, but that's how too many software packages work! :D
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/535847

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice