1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Homegroup/Network issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by RevLoki, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RevLoki

    RevLoki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    I have three computers (all hp): a netbook running 32-bit Windows 7 starter, a laptop running 64-bit windows 7 premium and a desktop recently upgraded to 64-bit windows 7 premium. The desktop was previously running vista, and the network worked fine under vista.

    However, since the upgrade, the netbook and laptop cannot see the desktop on the network or homegroup, or access its files. The netbook and laptop can see each other's files, and the desktop can see the netbook and laptop's files. Also, iTunes can connect to the desktop's library from the netbook and laptop to play music. All three run Comodo antivirus, though none have the firewall enabled. I also disabled windows firewall for a time to see if that was the issue, to no avail. The permissions are the same on all three computers as well.

    The computers can ping one another by IP address. The desktop can also ping both computers by name, though they cannot ping the desktop by name. I ran the Homegroup wizard to create the Homegroup, and it is created. All three are part of the Homegroup. I have run Homegroup and Network troubleshooter several times. The Network troubleshooter said it may be a firewall issue, but I set the firewall to allow all IP addresses in a certain range. Unless I did that wrong?

    I have been trying to fix this for two days, and cannot find an answer anywhere. I would really appreciate any help.

    Here is the ipconfig/all data:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Izzy>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Izzy-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 24.29.103.16
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 24.29.103.16
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-14-C8-F6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::14b9:7a51:6b37:c948%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.20(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 03, 2011 12:08:29 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, January 10, 2011 12:08:29 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184558175
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-10-59-56-B1-00-1F-E2-58-35-E2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 156.154.70.22
    156.154.71.22
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E2-58-35-E2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.24.29.103.16:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : 24.29.103.16
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:c67:1218:9df1:9057(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c67:1218:9df1:9057%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sure sounds like a firewall on the desktop. What, if any, non-Windows firewall or security suite do you have on it?

    As an aside, that's a really strange DNS search list: "DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : 24.29.103.16." Do all the computers get that?
     
  3. RevLoki

    RevLoki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I have Comodo on all three computers, but the firewall is disabled. They all use the windows firewall that came with windows 7.

    As for the DNS Suffix Search List, yes, all the computers say that ipconfig/all.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    Never trust "disabled" firewalls. Often they must be properly configured or completely and cleanly uninstalled.
     
  5. RevLoki

    RevLoki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    So how should I configure my firewalls? I figure Comodo shouldn't be a problem, because all three have it, but could it be causing a problem specific to only this machine?

    Sorry, but I am not very good with computers, and don't have much experience reconfiguring firewalls.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sorry to sound trite, but for whatever access is desired. When/if a firewall gets corrupted it doesn't matter how you configure, 'cause it won't work right. The only way to recover from that situation is to uninstall, use the Removal Tool if one is provided, and then reinstall after testing. I know nothing at all about Comodo.
     
  7. RevLoki

    RevLoki Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you very much. I uninstalled Norton, because it was leftover from Vista, and the netbook and laptop could see and access the files on the desktop.
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,205
    First Name:
    Terry
    (y)(y)

    You're welcome. :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Homegroup Network
  1. as2001
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    488
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972411

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice