Solved: How can I create a boot CD?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

George10

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
16
I would like to create a boot cd, from which I will be able to format my hard disk.Also, if possible, I would like to delete/create partitions in my hard disk from this cd.
The question is what do I have to do in order to create this cd, because I have never done before something like that.:confused:
Thank you.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Format or partition your hard drive for what purpose? If you are going to reinstall Windows or Linux then that installation media will already have those tools there, no need for another disc. If you want format or partition a secondary drive then you can do that right from the operating system much easier.
 

George10

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
16
I want to reinstall the Windows. The problem is that the computer can't load any operating system and when I boot from the Windows installation cd the files are copied and then a blue screen with an error message appears and the computer restarts. So I want to create a cd from which I' ll format the computer on my own, so that the problem dissapears.
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,059
What version of Windows are you trying to install ? What is the error number on the bluescreen (it looks like 0x0000007B).

If it's XP and the error ends in 7B see if you can change the hard drive mode to IDE/ATA/Legacy in the Bios then try the install again.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The Windows installation can delete, create, and format the drive for you. No need for another disc to do that. As mentioned above you we need more info about the version of Windows you are installing. Are you choosing to format the drive during the installation? If you tell use the exact error and the exact version of Windows you are trying to install, as well as your computer specs or model that would greatly help.
 

George10

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
16
Thank you very much. I changed the disk mode to IDE and the Windows setup works!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top