1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How can I fix this???

Discussion in 'Networking' started by metallica5456, Feb 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    How do I fix this?? I get it whenever I log into my Netgear FVS336G firewall.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    Upon further research I may or may not need this as it appears to only be something for if I am running a web server or something??
     
  3. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    Because you're accessing the GUI of the FVS via SSL, a cert has to be pushed down to your client to create the encrypted tunnel. Since the cert is a self signed cert generated by the firewall and not one generated by a trusted authority such as VeriSign, you're going to get these warnings. It's just your browser warning you that the cert being pushed to you is not from a trusted authority. If you want to get rid of the warning, you'll have to import the cert from the Netgear into your PC's certificate store.
     
  4. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518

    Exactly....how??? Apparently I don't know EXACTLY what to google cause im coming up blank
     
  5. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    For IE, you go into Internet Options->Content Tab->click on the button that says Certificates. This will open a new pop up window. You will see a button that says Import. A new window will pop up with a wizard which walks you through the process. At one point, it will ask you where you want store the certificate. You can install it under the Trusted Publishers.
     
  6. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    ok this is what come up when I click import at the bottom it then asks me to specify the location of the file..?? WHere do I et the file??
     

    Attached Files:

    • 123.PNG
      123.PNG
      File size:
      84.9 KB
      Views:
      60
  7. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    Actually, forget what I said above. Forgot you won't get an actual cert file to upload. I'm used to running my own certificate authority which I would be about to generate cert files.

    With IE, go through the prompt to accept the untrusted cert. You'll then be at the login prompt for the firewall. In the URL bar, it'll be red showing the cert is untrusted. All the way to the right in the URL bar you'll see a red shield with an X and a notice that says Certificate Error. Click on the Certificate Error text. A new window will pop up. Click on the view certificate. You'll see a button that says Install. You'll then see two options where you can allow it to do an automated install or you can click on the second option to place the cert in a particular certificate store. This is where you can place the cert into the Trusted Publishers by clicking on Browse and then selecting the Trusted Publishers folder.
     
  8. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    all I get is the screen in my first post...I hate to bug about this maybe should just leave it be ???
     
  9. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    I'm not sure what browser or browser version you're running. I'm able to get the import option with IE 11.
     
  10. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit with IE 11. Should I try the 64bit browser??
     
  11. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    Are you sure you are clicking in the right spot? I'm attaching a screenshot which has the area you need to click outlined by the red rectangle. The pop up window below it is the one I'm referring to where you click on "View Certificate" to import it.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    Yes that IS what I am clicking on. THen hit view certificate and then it wont let me really do anything after that.
     
  13. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,369
    I'm not sure then. I wonder if it's something in your security settings. I don't have problems importing certs on both the Win8.1 IE11 laptop or the Win7 IE11 desktop box.
     
  14. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,467
    have you clicked on the trusted root tab in that pic?
     
  15. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,518
    yes...ill snip it next time I get on it for you guys :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1119323