Solved: How can I tell if my PCI X16 is not working?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
I couldn't get any output from the graphic card to the monitor. All 3 cables are hooking up (dvi, hdmi, vga) to the pc monitor. I switched back and forth between cable (input) but monitor keep on display that there is no input. Only the the vga from motherboard (integrated) is working. First, I thought the graphic card is busted, so I replaced with another one (new one) but still no output to the monitor. Is my PCI x16 slot is no longer working?

Thanks in advance for your help.

silverhalo
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
The Device manager only recognized the integrated graphic, but not my dedicated graphic card. I am currently using the integrated graphic. So I guessed that my PCI X16 is no longer working. What are my next steps?? 1) get the PCI x16 repair or 2) It's not worth it to repair. Buy a new computer??

Thanks for your help.
silverhalo
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
include power supply details

make
model
wattage

check the card is seated properly
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
Hi all,
Here is the info from TSG system info tool:
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+, x64 Family 15 Model 75 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 2941 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 6100 nForce 430 (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM), 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 948495 MB, Free - 865417 MB;
Motherboard: ELITEGROUP, MCP61PM-AM
Antivirus: Norton Internet Security, Updated and Enabled
Gateway GT 5432
The NVIDIA Geforce 6100 is integrate. I was using a dedicated card for at least a year until now.
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
and the power supply is

make and model of the card you were using

did you upgrade the power supply to cater for the cards demands
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
Dear dai
the power supply is original of 300W. The graphic card is xfx HD6670 1G. Since I bought the computer new many year ago, I installed a HIS graphic card and i lasted until this year (2012). I just recently replaced it with the xfx for 5 months or so. Could it possibly that the card draw too much juice for the PSU to handle?

Thanks dai.
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
Dear dai,
Thanks for the prompt reply. I still have 2 questions:
1) If I replace the power supply then my PCIx16 issue get fixed?
2) I am thinking about replace the motherboard with the same model, series, chipset etc..., if I do that, then I don't have to re-installed the OS?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
As dai suggests, get yourself a quality PSU first, then if need be, get yourself the motherboard. I would almost bet your new PSU will take care of your issue.
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
Just one more question due to my inexperience here:
If the PSU is not enough, would I have the issue almost immediately, not 6 months or so down the road would i

Thanks for the responds and help guys. Really appreciated it.

silverhalo
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
i would change it now the supply may go and take other components with it

quality supplies usually just go,but oem ones have a habit of taking other parts with them
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2010
Messages
3,992
I also agree with dai. The PSU is the most important part of your computer. Think about it a second. You spend a lot of $ on all the other parts; but then put in a PSU that could wipe all that out in one swift poof? The PSU should be the best you can buy and come with a 5/7 or longer warranty. The PSU'S dai showed you are the kind you want in your system, and can be used further down the road when you want to upgrade.
 

silverhalo

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 30, 2005
Messages
108
Thank you so much for all of your expert help. I will go ahead and purchase the PSU. Just in case the problem won't solve, then I probably go with the new motherboard route.

Again thank you guys.

silverhalo
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top