Solved: How do I back up my computer using Win XP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lynnebrunton

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2007
Messages
98
Hello, I want to back up all data and system data etc on my computer but the only way I am told it can be done is to insert the Win XP CD and use the backup wizard from it. I don'thave any Win XP discs unfortunately and I cannot see an easy way to backup from the Start menu. Any ideas please?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
6
Place a .bat file anyplace on your system. In it put the following:

@echo off
xcopy c:\*.* d: /e/c/h/r/k/m/y
cd c:
cls

You can put an icon on the desktop if you want.

You can also schedule this .bat file to run anytime you want and as often as you want.

The first time, it will backup everything. From then on only the files that have the archive bit set. Hence everything will be backed up.

I've been using it for about 8 years. It's great. A bit of overkill, but what the heck. I haven't lost anything.

Enjoy
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,076
The Bat file idea is ok but the code does assume there is a D partition on the PC.
If it fails through this replace the D in the code with C:\Backup, like this :-
Code:
@echo off
xcopy c:\*.* [B]C:\backup[/B] /e/c/h/r/k/m/y
cd c:
cls
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
If this computer is not your then whose is it?

Also doing this without the windows recovery or restore software is not advisable I would suggest having whoever owns the computer to order the recovery software from the manufacturer of the computer, and also doing a backup with anything other than acronis true image is really futile.

http://www.acronis.com
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
6
Well, of course one has to have a place to put their backup.

I didn't go into those details. I figure if anyone knows what a .bat file is, they would know the rest. Most people today don't even realize an autoexec.bat, config.sys or system.ini file even exist.

That was the reason.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
6
Your idea also requires a folder called backup that is as large as the files on the c: drive. Often this is not the case. Your hard drive might run out of room rather quickly.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top