1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How do I connect a new wireless secured to my other PC

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Margstertz, Jan 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    At present I have dial-up and occasionally get unsecured wireless connection. It is coming from a neighbour who is no longer in the house and the signal is very weak. I will be getting a new laptop with wireless Internet ISP and windows 7 home Premium. I want it secured but would like to connect to my other laptop and keep the dial-up until it runs out in July. Can the new ISP do this for me, or would I need to do it myself and if so how? :eek:
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is your new ISP supplying a modem and router?
     
  3. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    The service provider will be providing the router either rental or purchase.
     
  4. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Yes they will!
     
  5. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Buy your own router. You can get a pretty good one for $25 and it will no doubt be much cheaper that way.

    Once you have your modem with the router connected, you may be able to connect immediately with your laptop's wireless. During that process (when it finds a new network), it will ask you questions about how you want it secured. WPA or WPA2 are good choices. WEP is easily cracked.

    As far as the dial-up, that should be unaffected by any new connection.
     
  6. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Their's is a modum and router in one. I'm not sure if I can just get a modem?
    It's $4.50 a month to rent and its a cable co. Everyone in this area uses it. I'll check it out. Thanks
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Yeh, if it's the company's, you may be stuck with it.

    The router is wireless, right?

    You should have no problem connecting since all the settings will be set for you.
     
  8. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Yes, the router is wireless. I get about 4 secured wireless and 1 unsecured WLAN. Thanks for your help. Much appreciated!
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    You'll know more about what to ask if there are problems after you get the equipment. You may discover that using the dial-up is a waste of time, even if there is still time left on it.

    I'd suggest that you not use your ISP's free email. If you ever decide to switch again, you will lose the mail. So open accounts at Yahoo, Excite, Gmail, or somewhere else that is not affected by who supplies your connection. Keep in mind that they offer many "free" things to make it harder for you to leave if a better deal comes along.:D

    You can mark your thread "solved" using the button at the top of the page.
     
  10. Margstertz

    Margstertz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Is hot mail ok or is Gmail better? Thanks again.
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Hotmail is fine. The point is just to get one that is not dependent on who supplies your connection. With Hotmail, you can use Live mail and download your mail to your PC, so it is convenient.
     
  12. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Sounds like you're confusing physical ports on the router/modem with wireless security. The device probably has 4 wired Ethernet ports and one WAN port. The wired ports have nothing to do with wireless capabilities or any type of security.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973671

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice