Solved: How do I connect a new wireless secured to my other PC

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Margstertz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
65
At present I have dial-up and occasionally get unsecured wireless connection. It is coming from a neighbour who is no longer in the house and the signal is very weak. I will be getting a new laptop with wireless Internet ISP and windows 7 home Premium. I want it secured but would like to connect to my other laptop and keep the dial-up until it runs out in July. Can the new ISP do this for me, or would I need to do it myself and if so how? :eek:
 

Margstertz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
65
The service provider will be providing the router either rental or purchase.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Buy your own router. You can get a pretty good one for $25 and it will no doubt be much cheaper that way.

Once you have your modem with the router connected, you may be able to connect immediately with your laptop's wireless. During that process (when it finds a new network), it will ask you questions about how you want it secured. WPA or WPA2 are good choices. WEP is easily cracked.

As far as the dial-up, that should be unaffected by any new connection.
 

Margstertz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
65
Their's is a modum and router in one. I'm not sure if I can just get a modem?
It's $4.50 a month to rent and its a cable co. Everyone in this area uses it. I'll check it out. Thanks
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Yeh, if it's the company's, you may be stuck with it.

The router is wireless, right?

You should have no problem connecting since all the settings will be set for you.
 

Margstertz

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
65
Yes, the router is wireless. I get about 4 secured wireless and 1 unsecured WLAN. Thanks for your help. Much appreciated!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
You'll know more about what to ask if there are problems after you get the equipment. You may discover that using the dial-up is a waste of time, even if there is still time left on it.

I'd suggest that you not use your ISP's free email. If you ever decide to switch again, you will lose the mail. So open accounts at Yahoo, Excite, Gmail, or somewhere else that is not affected by who supplies your connection. Keep in mind that they offer many "free" things to make it harder for you to leave if a better deal comes along.:D

You can mark your thread "solved" using the button at the top of the page.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Hotmail is fine. The point is just to get one that is not dependent on who supplies your connection. With Hotmail, you can use Live mail and download your mail to your PC, so it is convenient.
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
Yes, the router is wireless. I get about 4 secured wireless and 1 unsecured WLAN. Thanks for your help. Much appreciated!
Sounds like you're confusing physical ports on the router/modem with wireless security. The device probably has 4 wired Ethernet ports and one WAN port. The wired ports have nothing to do with wireless capabilities or any type of security.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top