1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How do I do this?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by telecom69, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Im new to Vista,I have all my music files backed up on a cd,is there a dedicated folder in Vista where I can put them,and if so how ? help appreciated ....
     
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    C:\Users\<username>\Music

    (By the way, there are many hard-linked folders and files in Vista. If you went to Start > Run (or Search) and typed:

    C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Music
    or
    C:\Users\<username>\Music,
    You will be brought to the same folder. There is a hidden Documents and Settings folder hard-linked to the Users folder to insure compatibility with all those XP command lines, even though some things have moved.)

    It is no longer inside Documents. That folder is automatically monitored by WMP for changes.

    Right-click Desktop, Personalize, Change Desktop Icons to put your User folder right on the desktop.
     
  3. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Many thanks Elvandil,can see the folder now, but how do I get the music files that are displayed on the screen from the cd I backed up on,into that folder ?
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is there some problem with just selecting them all in the window (Ctrl+A) and right-click dragging them to the Music folder (Copy)?
     
  5. deubanks

    deubanks

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2000
    Messages:
    606
    Or copy and paste them.
    The way I get to my folders is click start and my account name at the top right of the start menu.
    I only have one active user, so that might not work for you.
     
  6. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    Many thanks to both of you for your help,I have now got it sorted ......
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Was there some problem originally? There isn't that much difference between XP and Vista. :D
     
  8. telecom69

    telecom69 Gone but never forgotten Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2001
    Messages:
    9,807
    There was a sort of problem,I have always used copy to or move to and these weren't showing for some reason, but I found a tweak on a search and added them ...I had never tried copy and paste before with photos,so I tried that and it worked so that was the little I learned today .....thanks again for all your help ....
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Copy To and Move To are not normally in Windows context menus. You must have added them yourself in XP.

    Do you have the normal menu bar showing? I really couldn't get along too easily before I enabled that.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759551

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice