1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How do I install driver for Canon scanner?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bj nick, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    This should be a simple, automatic procedure, but it is not working. I have a Canon N1240U flatbed scanner. it wasn't used for awhile, so I plugged it back in (it connects with USB; there is no other power). Immediately the computer sees it and announces it. But it won't work, can't find the driver, so I go looking for it, get it from the Canon site, and that should be it...it says on the site that you download it, and it will unzip and install itself. however, I get the file downloaded, then click on it to extract it, and it goes through the process of extraction. But I can't find the extracted files anywhere...where are they? It is supposed to self-install, but I've tried several times and ntohing happens.

    Please help...tearing hair out...using bad language...probably dumb question/easy solution...:mad:
     
  2. new tech guy

    new tech guy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Well what OS are you using and are the files compatible with winxp? Usually you extract and when you close the window the installer should start but if the drivers are not made for xp, it probably will not work... Have you tried leaving the device disconnected and installing the drivers first?
     
  3. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
  4. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    I'm running Windows XP and it says the drives is for XP.

    I did try to install it without connecting it first...didn't change a thing...it always gets to the extract process, goes through it, and then nothing.
     
  5. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    I have followed the exact procedure on the Canon support page. I did it exactly that same way even before reading their instructions, becasue this is nothing more than a typical driver install; nothing to it, done it a thousand times.

    I have tried installing this with the scanner connected, and with it unconnected. It makes no difference. what happens is that I double click on the downloaded zipped file, it extracts, I can see it go into "blah blah blah canon setup", then the blue line completes as if it is good to go, it goes away, but it has failed to install.

    I have posted the zip file for the download. Can anyone please check it out? Maybe send it to me unzipped and I can install it manually...? I have no idea why this damn scanner won't install...I have used the scanner for years, with THIS computer...
     
  6. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
  7. new tech guy

    new tech guy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    What is the directory the scanner extracts to. If we dont know the exact directory we cant really help you to much.
     
  8. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    I'm embarrased to admit it, but I can't figure out what directory it unzips to...how do I determine that?
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    If you have WinZIP installed (if not, get it), you can right click on the file and unzip the contents to the folder of your choice. Then you'll be able to find it. :)
     
  10. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    Ok, I unzipped to the desktop, but I realize the problem is slightly different than I have stated it. I checked in control panel and found the scanner installed under "scanners and printers." I ran the "test scanner" diagnostic and I could hear the scanner functioning, doing a run-through, etc, and at the end, I was told that the scanner is working fine.

    What is missing is the software that allows me to tell it what to do, for lack of better words. In other words, I can press the "scan" button to my heart's content, and I don't get the dialog box asking me "do you want to scan?" Or asks for settings, etc. You know, the software...aarrgghhh....you know what I mean...I would assume that would be installed as a part of the driver package, but after many, many tries, I see that's not the case...if this was Tuesday morning I'd call Canon...:mad:
     
  11. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    Ok, I unzipped to the desktop, but I realize the problem is slightly different than I have stated it. I checked in control panel and found the scanner installed under "scanners and printers." I ran the "test scanner" diagnostic and I could hear the scanner functioning, doing a run-through, etc, and at the end, I was told that the scanner is working fine.

    What is missing is the software that allows me to tell it what to do, for lack of better words. In other words, I can press the "scan" button to my heart's content, and I don't get the dialog box asking me "do you want to scan?" Or asks for settings, etc. You know, the software...aarrgghhh....you know what I mean...I would assume that would be installed as a part of the driver package, but after many, many tries, I see that's not the case...if this was Tuesday morning I'd call Canon...
     
  12. new tech guy

    new tech guy

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    5,178
    Well we got the drivers see if the cannon website has the other software for it too. Or just pull out its disk and install the software.
     
  13. bj nick

    bj nick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,431
    As I said originally, I didn't have the driver so I had to download it from Canon...if I had had the disk I don't think I would have had this problem...

    Anyway, the problem is resolved. I just assumed that the driver download would include the software, and it doesn't. I downloaded Canon Toolbox, and now all is well. I am way out of practice on basic stuff, I guess...thanks for the responses, everyone.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Also, once the scanner drivers are installed, any graphics application that has TWAIN capability should be able to scan using the scanner. I never install the toolbox with a scanner, since I don't ever intend to use it that way.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544699