1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How does CPU affect gaming?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by coolboy0286, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    I was wondering, if my gfx card is good, but my CPU is lacking, and I have suffcient ram, will the ram and gfx cover the lacking of my CPU? How does CPU work in gaming, what effects might be insufficient CPU have on my gaming experience?
     
  2. pinntech

    pinntech

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    893
    Hi..

    If your system specs are linked to the correct site, then there is absolutely nothing wrong with your CPU and it’s by no means a weak processor. It’s a dual core 1.86GHz processor. You have 2GB of RAM. Your graphics adaptor is a GeForce 7300LE Turbo.

    How many MB of memory have you allotted to the graphics card? It can be set to 64MB and all the way up to 256MB. Set that up to 256MB if it’s not set there already and your machine should work fine. If not, you need to take a hard look at what all you have running in the background!

    Usually when it comes to games, it’s a combination of RAM, GPU, and CPU. Yours are just fine, so it should run anything you need.

    Thanks!

    Shane
     
  3. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    I am getting a 7950, it is a great video card and the best that my BTX mb can handle, however, currently games like STALKER already requires that I have a better CPU, I was wondering what are the consequences of not meeting the recommended CPU requirement, will my gaming be slow, unplayable, or what?
     
  4. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    wow, what pry tell does the game say you need?
     
  5. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    ehhh, define pry tell plz lol
     
  6. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
  7. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    According to http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/srtest my cpu does not meet the recommended cpu hardware, if my computer doesn't meet a recommended hardware now, I am thinking that my cpu will become inadequate before my graphics card. However, my main question has not been answered, what consequences will I suffer if I do not have a sufficient CPU?
     
  8. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    :D
    oh thats right youre 15:D , you never heard that expression? of course it would help if i spelled it right, suppose to be "pray tell", sorry about that, it means like "please tell us"
     
  9. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Intel® Core&#8482; 2 Duo E6300 (dual core) 64-bit processor <--- I have
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400/AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ <--- recommended
    me <---- going to go mad.
     
  10. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    ahhhh...death?:D
    you are just below req hw specs, not much below
     
  11. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    But thats now, imagine like next year, the difference will be big. Once again I ask, what consequences will I suffer if I do not have a sufficient CPU?
     
  12. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    thats not exactly a big difference and youre well above the min, so relax, youre 15, youve got a long way to go, so maybe youre at 100 fps instead of 101, anything above 40 is pretty hard to notice anyway
     
  13. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    it is an unknowable question, like i mentioned before, you will have to start turning down details, resolution etc. to make fps playable, happens to every one. every bit of computer hw is obsolete the minute it hits the shelves, fact of life, nobody is immune
     
  14. coolboy0286

    coolboy0286 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    OIC, thanks, but can my ram or graphics card cover up for the inadequate CPU?
     
  15. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    to build a gaming system that would play games that are still in developement would probably cost $3000 and even then eventually it would be obsolete. Its very expensive to be a high end pc gamer, you really need to build a machine next time that way some up gradability can be built into it, buying a $600 Dell or HP or whatever gives you very few options.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595815

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice