[Solved] How to fix this error in partition table?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TerryRuoLin

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
2
Hi All,
when my system is doing initialization, i get the message below:
Activing swap partition: swapon /dev/hda8: invalid argument...[FAILED]

so i use 'fdisk' to check the partition table:
[[email protected] root]# /sbin/fdisk /dev/hda
...
command(m for help): v
warning: partition 3 overlaps partition 8
logical partition 8 not entirely in partition 2
372 unallocated sectors

command(m for help): p
Disk /dev/hda: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 2491 cyliders
Units=cylinders of 16065*512 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 638 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda2 639 2016 f Win95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda3 2017 2491 83 Linux
/dev/hda5 639 1148 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda6 1149 1658 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 1659 1977 b Win95 FAT32
/dev/hda8 1978 2017 82 Linux swap
~~~~
i can clearly see that logical partition hda8(1978-2017) is out of the bound of extended partition hda2(639-2016).
and this is most likely caused by Partition Magic...i used it a short while ago.
now the question is:
how to fix the error so that the swap partition is available?
thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
Can you boot without swap? Actually, can you boot windows at all. If you can, be sure to check out that drive (D:? or hda2). Partition magic may have made a mistake. Best bet would be to (after you ensure your data is safe) delete the swap partition, leaving free space, and create swap from linux, using the linux fdisk. (or cfdisk)
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
Whiteskin...i am so happy to have you as participant in this forum....your information and ideas are priceless........:):):)
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
Why thanks. At times i think i need an affero link, but mainly, i'm just happy to be here. More often than not, you guys force my learning through your questions. It makes you think out[]side the box.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2003
Messages
1,240
*steals whiteskin's knowledge of linux, and replaces him with a pod person* ;)
 
Joined
Nov 15, 2002
Messages
1,964
;). Ahh.... you wouldnt see to much change. My personality is easy enough to emulate. :)
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
735
to add to Whiteskins post, it also could be either the swapon command being given has an invalid argument, or the swap entry in the /etc/fstab file is not correct..
 

TerryRuoLin

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2004
Messages
2
Whiteskin said:
Can you boot without swap? Actually, can you boot windows at all. If you can, be sure to check out that drive (D:? or hda2). Partition magic may have made a mistake. Best bet would be to (after you ensure your data is safe) delete the swap partition, leaving free space, and create swap from linux, using the linux fdisk. (or cfdisk)
:) i have followed this advice and the partition table is fine now.
THANK you all who participate.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2003
Messages
735
oh sure, give whiteskin all the credit because he had the correct answer.. :p

:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top