1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How to install W7 on new Toshiba HD

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by jetblu2, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jetblu2

jetblu2 Thread Starter

Dear Tech Guy,

Sorry if I’m not posting in the right place - I'm a bit of a rookie. Anyway my Toshiba a505-6005 laptop has significant hard drive issues and an expired warranty. I would like to replace HD with a new [“TOSHIBA MK5065GSX 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Bare Drive] from NewEgg for about 60 bucks. I’m not savvy in such matters hence not interested in fixing existing drive. My question is this . . . . since Toshiba doesn’t provide a W7 DVD install disk, how would I go about installing Windows 7 on the new drive.

Please Advise and thank you in advance,

Jet B

2. gyclone

gyclone

Most manufacturers will provide you with an original media disk, upon request (some charge, some don't). These days most computers that ship without install media have utilities built in to burn the Recovery Disk; check the Toshiba website if you can't spot the program on your computer. Also, you can burn a Recovery Disk directly from Windows; just search for Recovery in Help and you'll find instructions.

3. jetblu2

jetblu2 Thread Starter

Thanks for the tips gyclone - I will explore your suggestions - might not be able to get around to it for a couple of days - will provide an update when I do - would love to hear if anybody has additional thoughts.
    best regards,

j blu

4. jetblu2

jetblu2 Thread Starter