1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How to open .bkf files?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BIGALX58, Apr 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BIGALX58

    BIGALX58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Hi...I just saved some files on a CD using XP's burner. Now I find that I can't open these files... they have a '.bkf' extension. I need something to open them with. How can I use this CD if I needed to restore these files at a later date? Thanks.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67,499
    Am I correct in assuming that these are 'backup files', hence the extension? If so, they may be corrupt. Just googling .bkf files got me piles of repair tools, something you may want to look into.

    v
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  4. BIGALX58

    BIGALX58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Sorry...what does that mean?
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Start, Run, NTBACKUP. For XP-Home, you first have to install it.

    Although Windows XP Professional Edition and XP Home both ship with NTBackup, only XP Pro installs NTBackup by default. You can install NTBackup for XP Home by performing the following steps:

    Insert the XP Home CD-ROM.
    Navigate to the VALUEADD\MSFT\NTBACKUP folder.
    Double-click the ntbackup.msi file to install NTBackup.
     
  6. BIGALX58

    BIGALX58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Ok...I had already activated the Backup utility from XP. That's what I used to make the backup(?). BTW, while checking NTBackup, I came across a program called Enhanced Windows Backup'. Any opinions about it? Maybe it could solve my original problem? Just another thought...do I need to 'open' the bkf file in order for it to be restored?...
    The more that I've been digging into 'backing up and restoring' etc, the more I've become frustrated. All the programs say that they are 'easy' to run, but they assume that one is conversant with the terminology and has the now-how to operate them. Then, after you think that you have figured one program out, there is another one that you need..and it's a few dollars more!! When you appear to have saved data and think that's it is ready to be restored when needed, you discover that there is a 'plug in' that you need...it just seems to never end! Can someone come up with a simple, all inclusive plan of attack that has no hidden surprizes, so I can perform what's necessary to get my computer running in case of emergencies? Thanks for putting up with my tirade...I think I feel better now!!! LOL
     
  7. anny82

    anny82

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
  8. BIGALX58

    BIGALX58 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    973
    Thank you so much! Happy New Year!!!
     
  9. anny82

    anny82

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    You are welcome...Hope that worked..

    Happy New Year to you too.....
     
  10. ChillBill

    ChillBill

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    I have a problem.
    I made a backup but when I place it back in another location I can't reach the filles.
    Plz help me because I really need those filles back.
     
  11. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    What the heck does that mean?
     
  12. ChillBill

    ChillBill

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    I made a Backup with NTBACKUP.
    When I but my filles there aren't any problems.
    When I try to get to those files I get a Messages: access denied
    Sorry if its a bit difficult to understand but I from Belgium and I speak Dutch.
     
  13. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Becasue the SID's of the user accounts do not match. Not to worry, Google for "Take Ownership of Files" and it is a very simple process.
     
  14. ChillBill

    ChillBill

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Thnx I'll give it a shot.
     
  15. ChillBill

    ChillBill

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    That did't work. I still get the message. But the map seems empty. The size of the map is 0 bytes.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/455272