1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How to optimize a Wireless Card to receve/send out packets without dropping t

Discussion in 'Networking' started by konichiwah89, Apr 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. konichiwah89

    konichiwah89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Greetings,
    I don't resort to forums very much to get the answer I need, but I've had a daunting problem.
    So, here's the deal.


    I have crappy internet, yes, but I don't think its crappy enough to simply drop on me. Only the download/upload rates are low, and I've never been kicked off my wi-fi before on any other laptop of mine. The computer I'm on right now is a custom build PC that I built myself, I actually just recently finished it. Seeing this constant problem kind of sucks.

    To my conclusion, I am certain its not my Wi-Fi, but it's actually my PC.
    I am almost certain that it has to do with the Wireless Card [I think that's what it is] and the two little pointy radar whatever they're called that sends out signals to receive the wifi.

    Thing is, I don't know how to optimize the signals so they are free to be able to receive the packets or send out packets to my network.

    If you have any tips, please respond in return.


    I did a networking scan to prove my point, and here was the results. In term, the Primary DNS server couldn't be reached; likely to a misplaced --whatever they're called. I moved the whatever--its--called a little to a more open area to bounce around to the wifi, and then I tried getting on to a website. It worked perfectly.
    http://prntscr.com/6vppef

    I don't know how to optimize the way the little radar-thingy's send/receive packets though.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see a screen shot of xirrus

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://go.pardot.com/l/66982/2015-01-26/2361i
    enter you details
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Network-Tools/Network-Monitoring/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector.shtml


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. konichiwah89

    konichiwah89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Sorry for the late response, I'm getting onto it right now.
     
  4. konichiwah89

    konichiwah89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Here you go etaf. I moved the little wireless receiver thingies on my PC to get a clear connection and this is what ended up. I [obviously] bleeped out the addresses. [the IP, DNS, etc.]
    http://prntscr.com/6vrtm4



    edit;
    I also did a quick ping test to confirm I'm getting bad internet spikes.
    http://prntscr.com/6vrz1x
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you connect to the router by a cable at all ?
    just to test the speed
     
  6. konichiwah89

    konichiwah89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    No I cannot, but the issue seems to be fixed. Wi-Fi hasn't dropped since I moved the little alien-like receivers to a more open area to bounce around. Thanks for your assistance.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved optimize Wireless
  1. Kaizerwulf
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,179
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146858

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice