1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: how to put a password on a router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by takeitezy, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. takeitezy

    takeitezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Hey guys,

    just wondering if anyone can help me out.. i just purchased my d-link DI-624 router with a DWL-G520 pci card and i want to put a password on the router to stop my neighbours from stealing.. if anyone can help me that would be great

    thanks
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
  3. takeitezy

    takeitezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    thanks 4 that... i did it...
    really appriciated... thanks =)
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You're welcome.

    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,731
    I bet reading the manual would have helped as well. Or actually inputing your Model router into D-links support site.
    http://support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=1506&question=di-624

    You will find most of the answers to most of your computer questions just by visiting the manufacturers website or just reading the manual that came with the device. Not too mention, D-Link sends a Setup CD that runs a Wizard to setup everything.
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    But what would we do all day? :D
     
  7. axis77

    axis77

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    650
    and how is verifying that his neighbor is stealing access?
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    I would guess that he looks in the wireless connection status of the router. Usually, when you have one wireless computer, and four connections are established, that's a big clue. ;)
     
  9. axis77

    axis77

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    650
    right how dumb, in my netgear, you can see the connections status, nevermind......
     
  10. takeitezy

    takeitezy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    heheh yehh my net was lagging and i get capped when i havent even downloaded anything LOL plus i see another 2 connections with locks on them
    but thanks 4 ur help guys
    appreciated =)
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the thread tools at the top of the page in the upper right corner.© :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/593589