Solved: How to remove user password?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

BeBe321

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
3
I have a new Win8 computer & was instructed to enter a password to access it. I want to remove that password. It is frustrating to have to enter a password every time I want to get on. Thanks in advance for any help.
 

1002richards

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
5,333
Hi and welcome,
If anyone else could have access to it then without a p/w they'll have access to all your docs, pics etc etc.

Richard.
 

DaveA

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,539
First Name
David
Also is this the Microsoft account or a local user account?

If it is the Microsoft account, then one is required.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,675
I agree cannot be done if Microsoft account
Also very insecure but
settings - change pc settings - users on left and then
"any user who has a password must enter it on waking this pc"
and click change below that
 

BeBe321

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
3
I agree cannot be done if Microsoft account
Also very insecure but
settings - change pc settings - users on left and then
"any user who has a password must enter it on waking this pc"
and click change below that
I found the one you describe under user accts., and it seems to have worked. I restarted & it didn't ask for password. And it's a microsoft acct! Hopefully, it'll be ok even if I shut down completely. Thanks to all.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
23,675
As long as you are happy that is all that matters
However you I think, although I will stand corrected, are confusing Microsoft Account with Local User account

see screenshot please
You have changed the last entry which is the way I sent you, but it does not matter how you go there

The Microsoft Account is a totally different issue., as my colleague said
 

Attachments

BeBe321

Thread Starter
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
3
The screen shot is exactly what I found, and I no longer have to log in each time. Thanks again.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top