1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: How to switch from 64 bit to 32?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by sync, Jul 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sync

    sync Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Do I need to buy a retail copy to switch?
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    Why are you wanting to make the switch?

    More information and details would be helpful.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. sync

    sync Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    The computer is for a point of sale system. The POS software vendor does not have a 64 bit driver for one of the devices we need to use.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
  5. sync

    sync Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    It is an HP computer and did not come with a disk. I assume that the restore function will restore the 64 bit version and not provide an option for 32 bit.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    That's correct. You need to buy a retail 32-bit DVD and then do a clean install.

    Doing a clean install will not reload all the "bloatware" that came pre-installed in it.

    What's the model name and model number of that HP? If you don't know for sure, advise what the product number(P/N) and/or model number(M/N) on the sticker is.

    Switching from 64-bit to 32-bit will probably destroy the built-in recovery partition, so you'll need the recovery disc kit if you decide to go back to 64-bit.

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. sync

    sync Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    I can only find a P/N: A7L22U2A#ABA
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Don't know if you'll have any luck, but I would make an attempt or two to get HP to do something for you here. When we buy Windows 7 (by itself) we get both 32- and 64-bit DVDs. Clearly when we buy Windows 7 pre-installed we get a big discount, but it doesn't seem entirely fair to me that we get only 32- or 64-bit. It's possible that they will sell you for a reasonable price a 32-bit Recovery disk set or a 32-bit installation DVD.

    But, I echo the above advice to make sure you make your set of Recovery DVDs now, before you lose the ability to use your Recovery partition.
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    I think you made a typo. Recheck the product number.

    You don't know the model name and model number of that HP computer?

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. sync

    sync Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    The computer was ordered by another department.

    It is located at a different location than my office. I asked someone there to get me the info and that is what they came up with. I'll have to go there myself in a day or two since I need that to download the drivers.

    I don't know why you want that info but I'll be ordering a copy of Win 7 Pro.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,579
    The reason I want that information is to confirm the identity of that HP computer and to determine if a recovery disc kit is available for it.

    If the switch from 64-bit to 32-bit goes bad and then it's decided to revert that computer back to its original factory condition, the recovery disc kit will be needed.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1063159