1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: HP 530 Stop Code

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ChiefExecNerd, Jun 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I'm working on an HP 530 and when I boot up, it blue screens with a stop code.

    The code is 0x0000007B (0xF7A0E528, 0xC0000034, 0x0...0, 0x0...0)

    So far, I have attempted F8 w/o success, tested and swapped the RAM, and run checks on the HDD. G-Parted can see and partition the HDD, but Windows Repair disk can't see the HDD. I have re-imaged this unit and it completed successfully, but when I rebooted, it BSOD'd again. There is nothing in the BIOS to change it to IDE from SATA and the self-test is reporting no errors. I've researched this in other posts as well as with microsoft and I'm getting nowhere.

    Here are the specs:
    CPU: Intel Celeron 520 @ 1.6 GHz
    RAM: 1 GB
    Win XP Pro SP2


    Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get past this?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
  3. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks for your reply. I've been through that article and was unable to find anything that would help. Any other suggestions?
     
  4. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    I'm assuming you've removed any external devices, any additional add in cards you don't need, etc.

    BTW, you mentioned you re-imaged. Did you use the same problem windows installation? Or another one that was saved prior to the boot up problem?

    I would suggest trying to do a clean install, either on this hard drive, or a different hard drive.
     
  5. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Bernardo,
    I have removed all external devices to this machine and the image that I used was a base image of Windows XP Pro that I have saved. It's got a clean install of windows and all of the other software that I need. I've used this base image several times before and have never had a problem with it.

    I only attempted to repair with the Win XP Pro disk and it didn't see the hard drive at that time. I've also swapped the hard drive out for one that I know works.

    I really, really appreciate you brainstorming with me. Keep it coming! :)
     
  6. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    So, you've tried a fresh install on a different hard drive and still the stop code error?
     
  7. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Yes, that's correct. Both hard drives produce the same stop code and there's no other information with the code, either. In the past, the BSOD's have usually pointed to a clue (Page_Fault_in_a_non-paged_area, for ex.) that let's me know where to look for the problem, but not in this case.
     
  8. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Have you tried bios defaults? You say you tried F8, what happens? How far does it go to the boot process before BSOD?

    What is the history on this system?
     
  9. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I have not tried BIOS defaults, but I will!

    When I go to F8, it does the same as regular boot which is this: It goes through the initial boot screen and flashes the Windows loading screen for about 1 second and then it blue screens. I originally thought that it was missing the ntldr, but re-imaging would have solved that.

    I'm not aware of the complete history on this machine other than that it was used by a couple of teenagers. There is no sign of physical abuse to the laptop, however.....
     
  10. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Well, I'm out of any further ideas, other than giving it flying lessons :eek:

    Almost has to be mobo related if you have swapped everything swappable out already :(

    Oh, and you aren't running on battery right? Pull battery and run on AC.
     
  11. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Flying lessons were what I was thinking too! :D Thanks so much for walking through this with me. I'll try that BIOS reset and see if it helps. Oh and yes to the AC question, no battery. Have a great weekend! :) (y)
     
  12. Bernardo

    Bernardo

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,221
    Thanks, you too (y)
     
  13. ChiefExecNerd

    ChiefExecNerd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Hey Bernardo!
    I found a fix for this problem. I went into the BIOS|System Config|Device Config|SATA Native Drive and changed the setting to Disable. As soon as I changed this setting, the computer booted up fine and finished registering the new image.

    Whew! I thought it was going to be an ugly looking paperweight!

    Thanks again for all of your input. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. blu3boy15
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    385
  2. Joe2
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,389
  3. Fluffi
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    381
  4. Boss Tweed
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    863
  5. WebKitten
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,117
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/931456