Solved: HP Mini 110 won't boot into Windows 7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jephph

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
155
I've got a netbook here. By default, it boots into something called HP QuickWeb. It looks like just a small OS designed to get you online quick. The wireless within that OS will not connect unless you restore the laptop to factory defaults. Even then, if the laptop's battery drains all the way, or is taken out, the next time you log in, you will be unable to connect once again until another restore. From QuickWeb, you can choose to boot into Windows 7. I figure that's the best way to take care of the wireless problem since there are very little configuration options from within the QuickWeb OS.
Anyway, when I try to boot into Windows 7, I get a loading bar, then the screen goes black with a cursor visible. I can move the cursor, but the screen remains black no matter what. I tried some different button combinations (ctrl+alt+del, Windows+D) to no avail. I get the same thing when trying to boot into safe mode. It goes through the list of sys files it's loading, then goes to the black screen. I'm not sure how to get into the BIOS. It loads into the QuickWeb pretty quickly. I tried the usual (del, f2, f1) and those didn't work. Not sure the BIOS would help me anyway. There is no cd drive on this netbook. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
Here is an article on Setup and Use HP QuickWeb Do you use QuickWeb? In the article it'll show you how to enable IOS (Instant On Software) in BIOS. You can also disable it. Maybe the IOS is the cause of the WIFI issue.
 

jephph

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
155
I was able to disable it. However, the black screen problem persists.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
Can you access the Advanced system option on boot using F8? If so run "Repair My Computer" It could be an issue with system file.
 

jephph

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 7, 2011
Messages
155
Problem solved. HP has a restore utility that allowed me to run chkdsk. That allowed me back into Windows. Thank you.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2003
Messages
5,625
If you feel that this issue is fixed, please mark this post solved at the top of your post.

Glad you are up and going.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top