1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: HPdv9000 lost wireless connectivity...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Skiddy1978, Feb 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Skiddy1978

    Skiddy1978 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Please help,
    I've recently moved house and since then I cannot connect to the Internet wirelessly the access is described as 'limited connectivity' I can surf if directly attached to the Ethernet cable but I just cannot get wifi.
    I've tried multiple you tube videos and still no closer- is anyone able to help??
    I have other computers connected wirelessly so I presume the problem is in my computers setting somewhere!
    I would be really grateful for some advise and help.
    I'm not totally computer minded so you may need to explain in some depth!! ;o)
    THANK YOU!
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what windows version do you have ?
    can we see an xirrus
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
     
  3. Skiddy1978

    Skiddy1978 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Screen print attached...
    Thanks.:)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what windows version do you have XP, Vista, W7 or W8

    you have a AR5007 adapter which often has this type of issue and usually in vista are you running vista?

    start by looking on the PC manufacturers website and download the driver and install
    whats the make an model of the PC

    Drivers for windows operating system
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-drivers.php
    You need to look down the page for your particular adapter model and then look across the columns to find your windows version.
    Now click on the blue tick mark in the column under your windows version.
    This will open another page for that particular adapter and that windows version.

    Now click on the download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    Please post a reply here , and keep us informed of the situation and how you finally resolved the issue.

    To install the driver you will need to do the following

    Extract the downloaded zip file into a folder on the PC
    then

    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007(EG) Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    > Have Disk
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder and highlight the .inf file
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,955
    First Name:
    Terry
    While I agree it's probably a driver issue I'd try channel 1 or 6 first. When there is no congestion it just makes no sense to me to fight the only other (strong!) network.
     
  6. Skiddy1978

    Skiddy1978 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Etaf - thank you so much worked a treat!! Explanation was great - A HUGE THANK YOU! Made all the difference to it!
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088616

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice