Solved: HUGE lag spikes in games only?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheBral

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
7
Hey, I have a great pc speed test score: http://www.speedtest.net/result/2448763224.png
My ping is 9, but as soon as I go onto ANY game, it immediately starts to go up to 500-1000. This happens every 45 seconds. Please help.
P.S: Does it make a difference if my wireless antenna is right next to a wall? If you can help, Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
829
There are two causes of this:
1) The server you are playing on and it's geographical distance to you, if the server is really far and has a less then decent internet connection then this can happen because the slightest hiccup for the server is huge for you.

2) WiFi Data loss: If you are running with cheap WiFi Hardware you can get data loss at times of high usage. Check your distance from your router and what revision of WiFi you are using and what type of security, some security features can impede performance.
 

TheBral

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
7
I have a Netgear R600 router, a Linksys dual band wireless N-PCI adapter, and Comcast/Xfinity internet service. I'm about 50 feet away from the router.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
829
ok that is decent hardware, try updating drivers for the linksys adapter from the cisco website.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2002
Messages
3,974
What are your system specs?
Maybe your system isn't able to run the game sufficiently.
the "every 45 seconds" is why I'm wondering, it sounds like a buffer flush interval or some kind of scanner in the background.

Edit: unless it is only your online ping lag and the games run fine offline. Then I'm not sure. :D
could still be an antivirus scanner or something I guess.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
829
QoS is a packet scheduler built into windows. Do you know how to manually change your IP Address?
 

TheBral

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
7
@Super-D, it's not my computer, i'm 100% sure its the connection. And how do I find out if it's an antivirus?
@Ajkane, no I don't, do you think that will work?
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
829
As for the antivirus, what antivirus do you use? And for the connection got to network and sharing settings, then click change adapter settings. Right click on your adapter and click properties. Finally highlight QoS Packet scheduler and click uninstall.
 

TheBral

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2013
Messages
7
Alright, did the QoS thing and disabled norton, I think it's fixed! Thanks to both of you!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top