1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: I am unable to obtain a 192.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Webman, Aug 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Webman

    Webman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Hello, I was using my computer and my network suddenly stopped working. I noticed that my ip address obtained from the command ipconfig /all was not a 192.xxx address, it was a 169.254.xxx.xxx address. When I do the command ipconfig /all here is the result of the command:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\ajd>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ajd-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82567LM-2 Gigabit Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-C0-B2-5E-06
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f8b5:1ed5:d4d:8e0d%15(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.142.13(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 184556736
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-F3-5B-4E-00-1C-C0-B2-5E-06
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F5922557-A9C4-434F-A094-25378C34D782}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\ajd>
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    that number 169.254 is supplied when windows cannot find a dhcp service
    whats the make and model of the router / modem ?
    do you have a firewall installed like, norton, mcafee etc - disable the firewall

    try the following

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Webman

    Webman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    etaf, thanks for taking the time to reply. I was about to try your steps, but my connection started working before I could try them. My guess is that there was some kind of error with my ISP (road runner).
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) strange sound like an issue connecting to the router rather than ISP _ but if its working again thats good to know
    you may want to post an ipconfig /all here just in case it disconnects again
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/946447

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice