Solved: I can't get online and there is no "network" in my device manager

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jakewalter

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
10
HELP!

I had to delete everything off my harddrive and reinstall windows and now I cant get online.

I'm trying to connect through a 2 wire wireless modem to a 2701 HG-B router. I know that everything is ok with the router as my other computer works fine. When I plug the ethernet cable into the back of the computer and to the router itself, it still will not go online...

I called AT & T and was on with them for a while, but they finally had me go to my device manager and said since I dont have anything showing Network in the list, i had to install that first before i can connect to the internet. I have no idea how to do that...can anyone help?
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
I had to delete everything off my harddrive and reinstall windows and now I cant get online.
you will almost certainly need the drivers - this maybe a network driver or also chipset drivers

whats the make and EXACT model of the pc

post a screen shot of device manager here - i suspect you may have some ? or ! in the list
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Device Manager}
Post back the results in device manager
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
windows 7
start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager

network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
are there any ! ? or X


post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,316
First Name
Frank
jakewalter:

Your "computer specifications" lists a Dell Inspiron with Windows XP. If that information is correct, advise what the model number is and advise what the 7-character service tag number on the sticker is.

You made the same mistake that many people do when they format a hard drive(or replace it) and then do a fresh install of Windows XP - you didn't identify the devices in your computer and then obtain the Windows XP drivers for them before you started.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
There you go missing a number of drivers as also explained by flavallee - if you would answer my question re Make and Model and also if it is the Dell the tag number as requested by flavallee
 

jakewalter

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
10
Itsthe Inspiron 1100 and the service tag number is GGMKF31.

Do i need to reinstall windows again using the disk and then do something differently?
 

jakewalter

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
10
sorry to be so ignorant...but there is a long list of them...how do i know which one i need?
 

jakewalter

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
10
do i need to be searching under "network"? when i did, there are 10 different ones..
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
you need all the drivers for devices with a ? against them , problem is different makes where used on that tag number

lets see if we can narrow down the network device


right click on the device with a yellow!
Properties
Click on the Details Tab
Under Property - drop down
Select hardware ids
Right click and select all.
Then right click again and select copy.
Copy and paste that here.

---------

SIW may help identify the hardware
SIW - System Information for Windows
http://www.gtopala.com/
you will need to download onto a different PC and copy across to install on the dell
 

jakewalter

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
10
that worked...but when i save the thing as a pdf, its 10MB (so i cant attach it here)...what am i looking for?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top