1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: I think my webpage is being directed to localhost, can people check :)

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by computer_pet, Sep 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. computer_pet

    computer_pet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Hi,
    I am not sure but sometimes when I go to http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 (my website) it goes to http://localhost/phpbb2. Then if you change localhost to ptrw.com:45 it works. It does not happen all the time but can I get a few people to see if they are redirected to localhost when they go to it.

    So if anyone has the time, can you go to http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 and see if they get to the Forum Index or go to localhost. If you are directed to localhost change it to ptrw.com:45 (http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2) and see if it works. :)

    When/and If you get to the Forum index can you please go to the forum "Tech Support Guy: Look Here" then go to the thread in there and post there to say how you got there (1. Got there straight away or 2. Had to change localhost to ptrw.com:45)

    I hope this isn't to confusing :)

    Thanks
    Computer_pet

    http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2
     
  2. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Had the same trouble.

    But after I change to ptrw.com:45 I got this here below. I never installed anything I the site had better not installed anything. :(

    Welcome To EasyServ Version 1.0

    You Have Successfully Installed EasyServ 1.0 !!!

    This is the first version of the next generation EasyServ installer. We are working to provide an easy to use product that will turn your computer into a webserver within minutes. The EasyServ group also provides a product that is scalable enough to run high end content driven webservers/websites. So no matter who you are, or what you need you have chosen the right product.

    As an administrator:
     
  3. computer_pet

    computer_pet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    When I say switch back to ptrw.com I mean change localhost to ptrw.com:45 but keep the /phpbb2 So it is http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2.

    The EasyServ page is just a website, saying that my installation of it has finished. EasyServ installs Apache, PHP, PHPmyAdmin in one installation, except have not bothered to change the index file they created.
     
  4. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    Well it is not working right. I went to http://ptrw.com/ and you get a message " This site is currently not operational."

    So I say the site is having troubles.
     
  5. computer_pet

    computer_pet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Http://ptrw.com and http://ptrw.com:45 are two different sites. ptrw.com goes to another server than ptrw.com:45.

    If you can not get to it even after you change it back to ptrw.com:45 (from localhost), I suppose I do have a problem. Can you try http://220.244.29.98:45/phpbb2

    This is what I mean:

    >http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 (but taken to)
    >http://localhost/phpbb2 (highlight 'localhost' and replace it with ptrw.com:45)
    >http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 (It works for me when I do this ???)

    If Not try this:

    >http://220.244.29.98:45/phpbb2 (may be taken to:)
    >http://localhost/phpbb2 (change 'localhost' to '220.244.29.98:45so it looks like this:)
    >http://220.244.29.98:45/phpbb2

    I do not know why it works for me on the seccond try??
    >http://
     
  6. computer_pet

    computer_pet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    484
  7. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,793
    OK

    http://ptrw.com/ I get This site is currently not operational.

    http://ptrw.com:45 I get TSG people, Please go to http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 Thanks

    http://ptrw.com:45/phpbb2 I get http://localhost/phpbb2/ and I see a image that shows up because it is being blocked by my hosts file. But I tried last night with the hosts file and it did not help.

    http://220.244.29.98:45/phpbb2 takes me to http://localhost/phpbb2 and changing it to what you said does no good.

    Now your link in the other post http://phpbb2.ptrw.com/ works and it takes me to a forum.

    So it works and if the link in your sig is what you wanted to take you to the forum then you better edit it because the one you got there now is no good.
     
  8. computer_pet

    computer_pet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    484
    Can I get a few more people to try this out please.

    Thanks hewee for your help :)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/272689

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice