1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: I want to alter my Boot.ini...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mothergoose729, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mothergoose729

    mothergoose729 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    (n)default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS.0(n)
    [operating systems]
    (n)multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect(n)
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\Windows="Windows XP Bootlogo" /fastdetect /KERNEL=ntosboot.exe

    Right now when I boot, I choose between three identical operating system and I want to get it down to just one. Those are the changes I want to make, with everything marked on either side by "thumbs down" being deleted. Think is will give me some problems? I am wary because the last time I altered my boot.ini I couldn't get my operating system to boot (scary!).

    In relation to that I had to install two version of windows xp on one partition at one point (see above). I deleted the duplicate windows folder and ran a registry cleaner. I am hoping with the alteration of the boot.ini the last remnants of the redundant install will be gone. Is there more I will have to do?
     
  2. Timmy69

    Timmy69

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating system]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect
     
  3. mothergoose729

    mothergoose729 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    I copied and pasted. Booted up fine, thank you. One problem though, now it has two (default) windows xp professionals. I just want one. How do I get it to just read the one and autoboot? Sorry, I'm kinda anal about these things.

    Also, is there likely to be any more remnants of my second xp install?
     
  4. bingo24

    bingo24

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    327
    Where there is (2) edit it with (1). There should no remnants.
     
  5. padutch

    padutch

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,297
    go to Start <> run <> type msconfig <> click ok <> click on the boot.ini tab <> click check all boot paths <> follow prompts
     
  6. mothergoose729

    mothergoose729 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Padutch you are a truly wonderful person.

    *Fixed*
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/751910

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice