1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: ICS through Router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Abriam26, Jan 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Hey,
    I need some help.
    Only this PC has internet in our house through a Cable Modem.
    And I want to share the internet through the router. (My router: Linksys Cisco wrt160nv2)
    So this are my PC networks: (PC1)
    Nvidia Nforce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet -> Connected to Cable Modem with cable.
    Wireless Network USB Adapter 54g WL-608 -> Connected to Router through Wi-fi.

    Client PC: (PC2)
    Has same wifi adapter:
    Wireless Network USB Adapter 54g WL-608 -> Connected to Router through Wi-fi.

    PC1=Vista Home Premium x64
    PC2=XP Professional

    Internet -> Cable-modem -> PC1 - - -> Router <- - - PC2
    And I would like that PC2 has internet. (But it hasn't)
    I don't want the router connected directly to modem, cause then PC1's internet is too slow.

    Could someone explain step-by-step how to do this?
    I think my router is Okay for ICS... I hope so.

    I have read other topics about ICS- but I couldn't understand it. lol
    I could come into my Routers configuration, but didn't change anything yet.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't see how using ICS is going to improve networking, but here is the recipe. You'll be connecting PC1 and the secondary router by Wi-Fi instead of ethernet, but that makes no difference.

    JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  3. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Thanks for the reply.
    But I have only 1 router. Not 2.
    My Cable modem isn't a router.

    And in Networks (on PC1) there is a Internet Gateway Device.
    And in it's properties there it says: Internet Connection Sharing.
    And there is an IP-adress with it: 127.0.0.1

    This is what I want: (bit clear than previous)
    Internet-->CableModem-->UTP-Cable-->PC1-->Wifi-->Router<--Cross-over cable<--PC2

    I already have this, but PC2 doesn't has internet.

    My PC1 Network settings:
    Ethernet adapter: (connected to cable-modem)
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 IP Adress: 82.73.64.65
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.254.0
    IPv4 StandardGateway: 82.73.64.1
    IPv4 DHCP servers: 213.51.129.90
    IPv4 DNS servers: 212.54.35.25
    IPv4 DNS servers: 212.54.40.25

    Wifi Adapter: (connected to router)
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 IP Adress: 192.168.1.101
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    IPv4 StandardGateway: 192.168.1.1
    IPv4 DHCP servers: 192.168.1.1
    IPv4 DNS servers: 192.168.1.1

    My PC2 Network Settings:
    Ethernet Adapter: (connected to router)
    DHCP Enabled: Yes
    IPv4 IP Adress: 192.168.1.100
    IPv4 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    IPv4 StandardGateway: 192.168.1.1
    IPv4 DHCP servers: 192.168.1.1
    IPv4 DNS servers: 192.168.1.1
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    You don't want a cross-over cable from router to computer.

    Your saying "But I have only 1 router" implies to me that you didn't read the Note at the beginning: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing ... .
     
  5. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    I don't get it anymore.
    What is my primary and secondary router?
    Which one is my Linksys Cisco WRT160Nv2, primary or secondary.
    And what is the other router?

    ----
    Sorry that I ask stupid questions... :O
     
  6. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    33,578
    First Name:
    James
    why cant you have:

    Modem >>> router >>> PC1 & PC2 connected separately?

    Right now from what I can see your routing is off. If your router has an IP address of 192.168.1.1 on the LAN side, then your PC2 will not connect because it's 'gateway to the internet' is the router but the router may not know where to go from there. Unless the router knows it's gateway (should be 192.168.1.101) then it will fail.

    Also having PC1's wifi adapter with a dynamic IP address (DHCP enabled) then you will run into problems if that IP address changes.

    So what you should have is:

    Modem > connected to Router's WAN/Internet Port
    PC1 connected to the router either a ethernet cable or wireless.
    PC2 conneced to the router via ethernet

    Your configuration is not right. Also the crossover cable will not work. You are not connecting same devices together. (as in PC to PC, router to router etc)
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you enable Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) on PC1 then PC1 acts as a router. You said you wanted

    (as mentioned you don't use a cross-over cable for unlike devices)

    The only way I know to do that and get internet access on PC2 is by using ICS (or a third party program that does essentially the same thing) on PC1. PC1 becomes your primary router and the Linksys is the secondary.
     
  8. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    I changed it a bit, is this okay? there is no cross over any more.
    Internet-->CableModem-->UTP-Cable-->PC1-->Wifi-->Router<--Wifi<--PC2

    But I have enabled ICS on PC1 in my networkadapters -> properties of Ethernet adapter (to cablemodem) -> tab Sharing -> tick two boxes. Or is this wrong.

    Bridging is weird, cause if I bridge the Ethernet adapter (to modem) and wifi adapter(router), and reboot the PC1, the internet doesn't work.

    But I will read your guide (above again), cause I understand it a bit more. :D
     
  9. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Cause I want to have PC1 with the fastest internet. And PC2 could have slower.
    Why can't I use Crossover? It gives me the Ip adress, etc. So why not?
    I can change it with wifi or a utp cable connection. I have changed it to Wifi now. is that okay

     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Regular (straight, patch) ethernet cables are for connecting unlike devices (e.g., computer to modem or router). Cross-over cables are for connecting like devices (e.g., 2 computers or 2 switches).

    If the router or PC2 has an auto-sensing (MDI/MDI-X) port then you can use a cross-over cable because the port will make the correction.
     
  11. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    If the router or PC2 has an auto-sensing (MDI/MDI-X) port then you can use a cross-over cable because the port will make the correction.

    I don't know if I have it so I plugged the crossover out and connected with wifi.
    Internet doesn't work... :(
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,256
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please show for both PCs ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following commands:

    nbtstat -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  13. Sysreq

    Sysreq

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Since you insist on using ICS then you don't need the router at all, just connect PC2 to PC1. That is what ICS does, as mentioned previously, it makes PC1 behave as a router for other computers on your network.

    Also as mentioned previously, you probably shouldn't do it this way. If your router is slowing you down then there's something wrong. If it's still under warranty, try getting it exchanged. Otherwise, try some troubleshooting tips i.e. update the flash, try a new cable, etc. etc.
     
  14. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    Sorry that it's in Dutch, I'm from the Netherlands.
    PC1:
    Microsoft Windows [versie 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. Alle rechten voorbehouden.

    C:\Windows\system32>nbtstat -n
    LAN-verbinding:
    IP-adres van knooppunt: [82.73.64.60] Scope-ID: []

    Geen namen in de cache
    Draadloze netwerkverbinding:
    IP-adres van knooppunt: [192.168.1.101] Scope-ID: []

    Tabel met lokale NetBIOS-namen
    Naam Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    COMPUTER <00> Uniek Geregistreerd
    WORKGROUP <00> Groep Geregistreerd
    WORKGROUP <1E> Groep Geregistreerd
    COMPUTER <20> Uniek Geregistreerd
    WORKGROUP <1D> Uniek Geregistreerd
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> Groep Geregistreerd

    LAN-verbinding 2:
    IP-adres van knooppunt: [0.0.0.0] Scope-ID: []

    Geen namen in de cache
    C:\Windows\system32>
    C:\Windows\system32>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP-configuratie
    Hostnaam . . . . . . . . . . . . : Computer
    Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . :
    Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : gemengd
    IP-routering ingeschakeld . . . . : nee
    WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee
    DNS-achtervoegselzoeklijst. . . . : dynamic.ziggo.nl

    Adapter voor draadloos LAN Draadloze netwerkverbinding:
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless Network USB Adapter 54g WL-608
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F6-86-81-EE
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:5249:403c:10:24ef:5ab4:31e6:80f7(voo
    rkeur)
    IPv6-adres in lokale site . . . . : fec0::10:24ef:5ab4:31e6:80f7%2(voorkeur)

    Tijdelijk IPv6-adres. . . . . . . : 2002:5249:403c:10:fc9e:ff20:ecc2:38ba(voo
    rkeur)
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::24ef:5ab4:31e6:80f7%16(voorkeur)
    IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101(voorkeur)
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 385879286
    DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-89-95-65-00-22-68-49-C9-90

    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : ingeschakeld

    Ethernet-adapter LAN-verbinding:
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: dynamic.ziggo.nl
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce 10/100/1000 Mbps Ethernet
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-22-68-49-C9-90
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::9478:23d2:e016:70f9%10(voorkeur)
    IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 82.73.64.60(voorkeur)
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : donderdag 27 januari 2011 5:21:46
    Lease verlopen. . . . . . . . . . : maandag 31 januari 2011 22:39:36
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 82.73.64.1
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 213.51.129.90
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218111970
    DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-11-89-95-65-00-22-68-49-C9-90

    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.54.35.25
    212.54.40.25
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : ingeschakeld

    Tunnel-adapter LAN-verbinding*:
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: dynamic.ziggo.nl
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:5249:403c::5249:403c(voorkeur)
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 212.54.35.25
    212.54.40.25
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : uitgeschakeld

    Tunnel-adapter LAN-verbinding* 6:
    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter LAN-verbinding* 7:
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja
    IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73b8:3cdc:dc3:adb6:bfc3(voork
    eur)
    Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::3cdc:dc3:adb6:bfc3%11(voorkeur)
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : uitgeschakeld

    Tunnel-adapter LAN-verbinding* 11:
    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{32BC2085-E0F4-4C51-BBEC-E09C9CBDB
    0C0}
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    Tunnel-adapter LAN-verbinding* 14:
    Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: dynamic.ziggo.nl
    Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.dynamic.ziggo.nl
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld : ja

    C:\Windows\system32>
    C:\Windows\system32>


    PC2:
    My router has 4 ports with auto-sensing.
    So did the Cross over back. and turned wifi off.
    Sorry that it's in Dutch

    Microsoft Windows XP [versie 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>nbtstat -n

    LAN-verbinding:
    IP-adres van knooppunt: [192.168.1.100] Scope-ID: []

    Tabel met lokale NetBIOS-namen

    Naam Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    ABIRAM26-PC3 <00> Uniek Geregistreerd
    ABIRAM26-PC3 <20> Uniek Geregistreerd
    WORKGROUP <00> Groep Geregistreerd
    WORKGROUP <1E> Groep Geregistreerd

    Draadloze netwerkverbinding:
    IP-adres van knooppunt: [0.0.0.0] Scope-ID: []

    Geen namen in de cache

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP-configuratie

    Host-naam . . . . . . . . . . . .: abiram26-pc3
    Primair DNS-achtervoegsel. . . . .:
    Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : gemengd
    IP-routering ingeschakeld. . . . .: nee
    WINS-proxy ingeschakeld . . . . . : nee

    Ethernet-adapter LAN-verbinding:

    Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    SiS 900-Based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-13-8F-0F-E6-77
    DHCP ingeshakeld. . . . . . . . . : ja
    Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld. : ja
    IP-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100
    Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : dinsdag 25 januari 2011 22:30:31
    Lease verlopen . . . . . . . . . : donderdag 27 januari 2011 22:30:31

    Ethernet-adapter Draadloze netwerkverbinding:

    Status van medium . . . . . . . . : medium ontkoppeld
    Beschrijving . . . . . . . . . . .:
    Wireless Network USB Adapter 54g WL-608
    Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F6-86-80-F0

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
  15. Abriam26

    Abriam26 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    267
    PC2 to PC1 connected, no. Because we don't want cable through our hole house.
    Because PC1 is downstairs at our house, and PC2 is upstairs with the router.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976960

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice