1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IE and Firefox Errors

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by grambling, Feb 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. grambling

    grambling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    When browsing I get a couple different errors and I'm forced to close the browser. The most recent ones are:

    NDETECT caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:73458629.
    Registers:
    EAX=80004021 CS=0167 EIP=73458629 EFLGS=00010246
    EBX=00000000 SS=016f ESP=0064efc4 EBP=0064efe4
    ECX=00000004 DS=016f ESI=7ff4a934 FS=273f
    EDX=8171dee0 ES=016f EDI=ffffffff GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:


    FIREFOX caused an invalid page fault in
    module NPDSPLAY.DLL at 0167:029a0bdc.
    Registers:
    EAX=00000000 CS=0167 EIP=029a0bdc EFLGS=00010246
    EBX=00dcce88 SS=016f ESP=00c870b8 EBP=00c87100
    ECX=00000000 DS=016f ESI=00000000 FS=21f7
    EDX=023a8228 ES=016f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    8b 06 ff 50 10 8b f8 83 c4 0c 85 ff 75 24 8b 3e
    Stack dump:
    00000000 00000004 029d84bc 00000000 00000000 0299a8fe 00000000 60197350 0299b096 60197350 0299b178 00500bd7 00a3df20 6035989c 00dcce60 00c871c8

    I searched for those errors beforehand in the forum and came up with nothing. Any help would be much appreciated. Not sure if it is necessary but the most recent hijackthis log is:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
    Scan saved at 4:22:40 PM, on 2/11/05
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPZTSB04.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGCC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGEMC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG FREE\AVGAMSVR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\AUDIOHQ\AHQTB.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ZONE LABS\ZONEALARM\ZLCLIENT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\AIM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGMAIN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\SGBHP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\WINWORD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\MY DOCUMENTS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\SPYWAREGUARD\DLPROTECT.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpztsb04.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdReg] C:\WINDOWS\Updreg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGCC.EXE /STARTUP
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGEMC.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_AMSVR] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVGFRE~1\AVGAMSVR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AudioHQ] C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\AudioHQ\AHQTB.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [devldr16.exe] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\devldr16.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [TrueVector] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ZONELABS\VSMON.EXE -service
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM\AIM.EXE
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {EB387D2F-E27B-4D36-979E-847D1036C65D} (QDiagHUpdateObj Class) - http://h30043.www3.hp.com/hpdj/en/check/qdiagh.cab?314
    O16 - DPF: {62475759-9E84-458E-A1AB-5D2C442ADFDE} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/mickey/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} (SecureLogin.SecureControl) - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptemplates/ActiveSecurity.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5/asinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EF791A6B-FC12-4C68-99EF-FB9E207A39E6} (McFreeScan Class) - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/iss-loc/vso/en-us/tools/mcfscan/2,0,0,4373/mcfscan.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/2004061001/housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/xscan53.cab

    Thanks again.
     
  2. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,146
    Hi grambling

    Do you have Symantec Anti-Virus installed on this machine?
    Google search shows NDETECT as part of Norton's Live Update.
    Is NDETECT showing in your Scheduled Tasks?

    NPDSPLAY.DLL seems to be associated with Windows Media Player.
    Are the plug-ins for Windows Media Player installed and active for Firefox?
    Are you experiencing any problems with Windows Media Player?
    _______________________________________________________________

    With all windows closed, rescan with HijackThis, place a checkmark in this line and click on Fix

    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} (SecureLogin.SecureControl) - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptem...iveSecurity.cab
    (Spyware, adware, browser hijacker, dialer or other potentially unwanted ActiveX component.)

    Other than the above line, nothing else stands out for your HijackThis Log.
     
  3. grambling

    grambling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    No not currently, I used to have Symantec for the trial version, but now I use AVG. Maybe I didn't uninstall it completely, what do you think is the best way for that?

    As far as the scheduled tasks go, yes, it shows that "Symantec NetDetect" as one. What should I do about that.

    And to answer the last question, yes I've been having trouble with WMP once in awhile. Of late I have been looking at different profiles at MySpace.com, and they have a feature that plays a music video automatically in the browser, I think that is usually the time these error messages come up. I haven't installed manually any plug-ins for Firefox since I've been using it (for 6-7+ months now). That is also something I'll look into.
     
  4. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,146
    Remove/Delete "Symantec NetDetect" from your Scheduled Tasks, then Reboot.

    Without knowing what version was installed I do not have a Symantec Removal link to give you.

    Let us know if removing "Symantec NetDetect" from your Scheduled Tasks clears up the first error.
     
  5. grambling

    grambling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    The NDETECT error hasn't come up again, so I believe that one has been resolved, thanks for that.

    As for the NPDSPLAY.DLL error, I have yet to see that either, so that might have been fixed by installing the plug-in for firefox.

    I'll give it a couple days and I'll let you know then if the errors show up or not.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. grambling

    grambling Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    The errors haven't shown up over the past few days, so this one is solved. Thanks again for your help.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/329445

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice