1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IE - DNS error

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by bcutler, Sep 19, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bcutler

    bcutler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    New to forums - Thanks in advance

    After running fine for years my IE browser suddenly will not connect. My outlook express also tells me that it cannot find my pop host. My Internet connection show that I am connected. Any recommendations.

    I am running IE 5.0. Will installing 6.0 help by any chance?
     
  2. e-liam

    e-liam

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,242
    Hi bcutler, and welcome to TSG.. :)

    First thing to try is a repair. Please click on Start | Settings | Control Panel | Add/Remove Programs, then scroll down the list and highlight Internet Explorer 5.0 and Internet Tools by clicking once. A button will illuminate under the list saying Add/Remove program. Click on that and then click on the option to Repair, and click OK. That should sort it out for you.

    If not, could you download 'Hijack This!' from http://www.spywareinfo.com/files/hijackthis.zip
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".
    When the scan is finished, click "Save Log", and copy and paste it in a reply.

    This will give us a rundown of what’s going on in your PC. One of us here will be glad to analyse it for you. Don’t fix anything yourself yet, as a lot of the stuff on that list will be harmless or required.

    Cheers

    Liam
     
  3. bcutler

    bcutler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    thanks for the quick response. I will download Hijack here at work, take it home and try to 1) repair IE 5.0 then 2) scan hijack.

    will post results

    Bruce
     
  4. bcutler

    bcutler Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    using repair did not solve my problem. here is a copy of the hijackthis file that was scanned. any help you can provide is appreciated. ps, I will be switching to a SBC/Yahoo DSL this weekend and they put you on their own Yahoo browser. Will my problem be a mute point at that time?

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 6:09:30 AM, on 9/25/03
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.50 SP1 (5.50.4522.1800)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\EVNTSVC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\WT\UPDATER\WCMDMGR.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP KILLER\POPUPKILLER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PALM\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DRWATSON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,-1[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\evntsvc.exe -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [McAfeeWebScanX] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [wcmdmgr] C:\WINDOWS\wt\updater\wcmdmgrl.exe -launch
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PopUpKiller] C:\PROGRAM FILES\POPUP KILLER\POPUPKILLER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [winmodem] WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    O4 - Startup: HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\Palm\hotsync.exe
    O4 - Startup: PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    O4 - Startup: Drwatson.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\DRWATSON.EXE
    O9 - Extra button: RealGuide (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'c:\program files\newdotnet\newdotnet3_88.dll' missing
    O12 - Plugin for .3dml: C:\Program Files\Flatland\NProver.dll
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {73020B72-CDD6-4F80-8098-1B2ECD9CA4CA} (HearMe VoiceCREATOR) - http://vp.hearme.com/products/vp/embedded/plugins/evp.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1C955F3B-5B32-4393-A05D-24B4970CD2A1} (Video Class) - http://stream10k.redhotnetworks.com/cabs/videox.cab
    O16 - DPF: {85411480-DDF9-11D0-8F52-080009CDBAA9} (Starwave_Comparison_Chart) - http://stats.espn.go.com/java/OuterComparisonChart.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} - http://207.188.7.150/015dd22eeec724281d04/netzip/RdxIE2.cab
    O16 - DPF: {02BF25D5-8C17-4B23-BC80-D3488ABDDC6B} (QuickTime Object) - http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165947

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice