1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IE not working

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Oldwest, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Internet Explorer does not work. I get a message every time I try to open it.
    It has always worked in the past.
    I have Vista Home Premium, I also use Firefox and it works.
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    What's the message you are getting?
     
  3. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Internet Explorer has stopped working.

    A problem caused the program to stop working.
    Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.

    I use Firefox but sometimes I will get a msg in IE and it will not open in Firefox.
    Appreciate your help....
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    What version of Internet Explorer?

    To determine whether a performance issue or an error message is caused by corruption in the temporary Internet files or in other cached information that is used by Internet Explorer, you must clear cached data.
    To do this, follow these steps.
    1. Open Internet Explorer.
    2. Click Safety, and then click Delete Browsing History.
    3. In Delete Browsing History area, click Delete.

    You can try Internet Explorer without Add-ons. Follow the steps mentioned below.
    Step1: Run Internet Explorer in "No Add-Ons" mode
    1.Click Start, and then type Internet Explorer in the Start Search box.
    2.Click Internet Explorer (No Add-Ons). Internet Explorer opens without add-ons, toolbars, or plug-ins.
    3.Test Internet Explorer to verify that it works correctly. If it works then you can disable add-ons (follow step 2).
    Step 2:
    Use the Manage Add-ons tool to determine which add-on is causing the issue
    1.Open Internet Explorer 8.
    2.Click Tools, and then click Manage Add-ons.
    3.On the Show drop-down menu, select All add-ons to display all add-ons that are installed on the computer.
    4.For each item in this list, select the add-on, and then click Disable in the Information window.
    5.When you have disabled all the items in this list, click OK.
    6. Exit and then restart Internet Explorer.
    7. If issues do not reoccur, repeat steps 1 through 3.
    8. Click Enable for a single add-on.
    9. Repeat steps 6 through 8 until you determine which add-on causes errors to occur.

    If nothing works in resolving the issue try resetting the Internet Explorer.
    You can also try and reset Internet explorer:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737

    Reset IE disclaimer:
    Please note that running Reset Internet Explorer Settings will reset all user-defined settings including those set by installed extensions, toolbars and other add-ons to IE Defaults. This includes all Security, Privacy and Zone settings. Also this will clear browsing history, delete all temporary Internet Files, cookies, form data and especially all stored passwords.
     
  5. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    thanks for all the info, this will take awhile. I think I have IE 8 but don't know how to check it. I tried right clicking the icon but it didn't give me the version. When I left click it I get the message .
     
  6. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Okay. Take your time and keep us posted :)
     
  7. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    You know I can't do any of your suggestions because I cannot open IE. When I left click I get the "stopped working" message and when I right click I get the normal list, none of which do me any good.
    Is there a way I can uninstall IE? If so, how do I do it. Or what would happen if I tried to install IE 8 again?
     
  8. Jessica-chen

    Jessica-chen

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    try resetting IE defaults, in the tools, internet options, advanced settings.
    there are probably still some 3rd party plug-ins that could confuse things as well.... check those in the same tabs.
     
  9. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You can open it without Add Ons without double clicking on it (opening it)
    Right click on the IE icon and choose Start without Add Ons

    Last option is resetting IE:
    Click Start
    Type the following command in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER:
    inetcpl.cpl
    The Internet Options dialog box appears.
    Click the Advanced tab.
    Under Reset Internet Explorer settings, click Reset. Then click Reset again.
    When Internet Explorer finishes resetting the settings, click Close in the Reset Internet Explorer Settings dialog box.
    Start Internet Explorer again.

    And yes IE can be uninstalled

    IE8 can be uninstall by using Add or Remove Programs module in Windows XP, but in Windows Vista, Windows Internet Explorer 8 is not considered to be a ‘program’. Instead, IE8 is categorizing as an ‘update’. Thus, users will not be able to find Windows Internet Explorer 8 in “Programs and Features” of Windows Vista.
     
  10. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Cheeseball81:)
    It worked! I now have IE 8.
    Thank you very much, you are a genius!
     
  11. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Great! :) which solution ended up doing the trick?
     
  12. whitekingle

    whitekingle

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    The best and fastest method is to reinstall your IE.
     
  13. Oldwest

    Oldwest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    168
    Reinstalling IE, it worked like a charm. Thanks again.
     
  14. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916515

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice