Solved: Ie Won't Allow Email Access

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jeonne

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
43
I have been trying for weeks to logon to my email site (yahoo). Everytime I go to the site and click check mail......I get an error message from interner explorer wanting to send an error message to microsoft. Whether I send the message or not the program then shuts down yahoo. It also does it with some other websites (this one too). I've had to download Netscape to get online with you.
HELP!!!
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hi Jeonne

Run an online antivirus check from at least one and preferably 2 of the following sites
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
http://security.symantec.com/default.asp?
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/
Allow them to clean/delete any spyware/malware or viruses/trojans they may find.
Make a note of any files flagged that were unable to be cleaned or deleted.

Download or verify you have the most recent versions of:
Ad-Aware SE 1.05
Spybot-S&D (ver. 1.3) and
HijackThis (ver 1.99)

_________________________________________________________________


Install Ad-Aware SE and Spybot-S&D and check each of them in turn for updates.

For Ad-Aware SE click on Full System Scan and deselect Search for negligible risk entries.
Let Ad-Aware SE remove what it finds.
Run Spybot-S&D and have it fix what it finds marked in Red.

Unzip HijackThis to a FOLDER on your C or main harddrive, do NOT install HijackThis to a temporary folder.
This will allow HijackThis to properly create backup files.

_________________________________________________________________


After running your online virus scans and running Ad-Aware SE and Spybot S&D,
close all programs and reboot to complete the removal process.

After Rebooting your computer,
start HijackThis
click on Do a system scan and save a logfile.
Most of what it lists will be harmless or even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.

Close HijackThis and post your logfile here and one of our security experts will take a look at it.
 

Jeonne

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
43
Here is the result of my HiJackThis scan and save logfile!


Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
Scan saved at 1:39:39 AM, on 2/6/05
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SA3DSRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\CPQEADM.EXE
C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\CISRVR.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\BTTNSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LVCOMS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT MONEY\SYSTEM\REMINDER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETZERO\EXEC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINDOWS MEDIA COMPONENTS\ENCODER\WMENCAGT.EXE
C:\COMPAQ\INTROREG\NA\IQ\REMIND32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT OFFICE\OFFICE\FINDFAST.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\ON-SCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\NETSCAPE\NETSCP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETZERO\EXEC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTH.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://desktop.presario.net/scripts/redirectors/presario/deskredir.dll?c=2c99&s=consumer&i=ENU
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.presario.net/scripts/redirectors/presario/srchredir.dll?c=2c99&lc=0409&s=search&i=enu
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://my.netzero.net/s/search?r=minisearch
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer
R3 - URLSearchHook: URLSearchHook Class - {37D2CDBF-2AF4-44AA-8113-BD0D2DA3C2B8} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\NZSEARCH\SEARCHENH1.DLL
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.startup.homepage", "http://www.yahoo.com/"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\8vnfohu2.slt\prefs.js)
N3 - Netscape 7: user_pref("browser.search.defaultengine", "engine://C%3A%5CPROGRAM%20FILES%5CMOZILLA.ORG%5CMOZILLA%5Csearchplugins%5Cgoogle.src"); (C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Mozilla\Profiles\default\8vnfohu2.slt\prefs.js)
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YCOMP5_3_12_0.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHELPER.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: ZeroBar - {F5735C15-1FB2-41FE-BA12-242757E69DDE} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETZERO\TOOLBAR.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\INSTALLS\CPN\YCOMP5_3_12_0.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: ZeroBar - {F0F8ECBE-D460-4B34-B007-56A92E8F84A7} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETZERO\TOOLBAR.DLL
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EM_EXEC] c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQEASYACC] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\cpqeadm.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EACLEAN] C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init] A3dInit.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Compaq Internet Setup] C:\Compaq\Internet\InetWizard.exe /RUN
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CISrvr Program] C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\CISRVR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AvconsoleEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSECOMR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsStatEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [McAfeeWebScanX] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Service Connection] c:\cpqs\bwtools\bwtray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OEMCLEANUP] c:\windows\OPTIONS\oemreset.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WildTangent CDA] RUNDLL32.exe C:\PROGRA~1\WILDTA~1\APPS\CDA\CDAENG~1.DLL,cdaEngineMain
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CriticalUpdate] c:\windows\SYSTEM\wucrtupd.exe -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LVComs] c:\windows\SYSTEM\LVComS.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RealTray] C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DXM6Patch_981116] C:\WINDOWS\p_981116.exe /Q:A
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Aureal A3D Interactive Audio] sa3dsrv.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ConfigServices] C:\CPQS\TOOLS\CONFIG.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeWebScanX] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe /RUNSERVICES
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [HC Reminder] hc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AOL Instant Messenger (TM)] C:\Program Files\Netscape\Communicator\Program\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Reminder] C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\reminder.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe -quiet
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\AIM\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NetZero_uoltray] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETZERO\EXEC.EXE regrun
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [spc_w] "C:\Program Files\NZSearch\nzspc.exe" -w
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
O4 - Startup: Encoder Agent.lnk = C:\Program Files\Windows Media Components\Encoder\WMENCAGT.EXE
O4 - Startup: Iomega Watch.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Tools\IOWATCH.EXE
O4 - Startup: Iomega Startup Options.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Tools\IMGSTART.EXE
O4 - Startup: Reminder-cpq40502.lnk = C:\COMPAQ\Introreg\Na\iq\Remind32.exe
O4 - Startup: Refresh.lnk = C:\Program Files\Iomega\Tools\refresh.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: AltaVista Home - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/home
O8 - Extra context menu item: AV Search This Term - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/search
O8 - Extra context menu item: AV Translate this Web Page - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/babelfish
O8 - Extra context menu item: AV Translate Selection - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/babelfish
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {06FE5D00-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/home (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &AltaVista Home - {06FE5D00-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/home (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Translate - {06FE5D05-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/babelfish (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AV &Translate - {06FE5D05-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/babelfish (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {06FE5D02-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/linksearch (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Find Pages Linking to this URL - {06FE5D02-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/linksearch (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {06FE5D03-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/hostsearch (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Find Other Pages on this &Host - {06FE5D03-8F11-11d2-804F-00105A133818} - http://jump.altavista.com/avie5/hostsearch (file missing)
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger - {4528BBE0-4E08-11D5-AD55-00010333D0AD} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YHEXBMES0521.DLL
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\COMMUNICATOR\PROGRAM\AIM\AIM.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug - {AF6CABAB-61F9-4f12-A198-B7D41EF1CB52} - C:\Program Files\AWS\WeatherBug\Weather.exe (file missing) (HKCU)
O12 - Plugin for .swf: C:\Program Files\Netscape\Communicator\Program\PLUGINS\NPSWF32.dll
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} (YAddBook Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/suite/yautocomplete.cab
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
I get an error message from interner explorer wanting to send an error message to microsoft.
Attempt to access Yahoo! again and when the box pops up, click on details and post the the actual error message here.

sekirt
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Hey sekirt!

Jeonne
For your HijackThis log:
AVG6 is going to be discontinued soon.
Download the new version 7 at www.grisoft.com

It also appears you are running two anti-virus programs at the same time, only one is needed.
Uninstall McAfee and stick with AVG or vice versa.

You can disable Findfast in the Control Panel.

There are other startup programs that you can remove from startup to help free up your systems resources.
 

Jeonne

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
43
The actual error message :

AppName: iexplore.exe AppVer: 6.0.2800.1106 ModName: msvcrt.dll
ModVer: 6.1.8293.0 Offset: 000154a7
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2003
Messages
3,998
I believe that could be the wrong version of msvcrt.dll. If you have Macromedia Flash 7 installed, that is one possible explanation.

The correct version of msvcrt.dll is 6.00.8397.0 per Microsoft

Here is a MS article that explains how to extract and install the correct version. However, it explains about a Msvcirt.dll problem. Ignore that portion.
Just do the installation of your msvcrt.dll listed under the heading Windows 98.

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=296551

sekirt
 

Jeonne

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
43
THANK YOU!! It worked BUT......now I am getting the following error message:

IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module KERNEL32.DLL at 016f:bff9db61.
Registers:
EAX=c00309c4 CS=016f EIP=bff9db61 EFLGS=00010202
EBX=036efe28 SS=0177 ESP=035efee0 EBP=035f017c
ECX=00000000 DS=0177 ESI=00000000 FS=71bf
EDX=bff76855 ES=0177 EDI=bff79198 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
53 8b 15 e4 9c fc bf 56 89 4d e4 57 89 4d dc 89
Stack dump:




I started getting this error before I did the changes you suggested:

C:\progra~1\wildta~1\apps\cda\cdaeng~1.dll (what is this??)
 

Jeonne

Thread Starter
Joined
May 15, 2000
Messages
43
Thanks again for all the help. Here goes again............I just installed a CD-RW drive
(IOMAGIC 52x24x52 Internal CD-RW) in my aunt's computer. She has a Gateway 400c
running WIN98. Upon installation of the CD-RW drive I found that the driver disc was missing. I have been to the IOMAGIC website and downloaded the driver. It does not work. I have also managed to lose the original CDROM drive. The computer only indicates the floppy and hardrive. HELP!
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Did you double check that the ribbon connection to the motherboard and to the CD-RW drive is snug?

Check in Device Manager to see if the CD-RW has been detected.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top