Solved: IE7 fails to connect to sites with http, works in https; email works fine

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
Probably this is something simple in IE7 options/settings but I failed to figure it out.

This is happening on my desktop (am writing this on my laptop). It's failing to connect, with the exception being "secure" sites - https://....

Email is working fine.

Thanks
LSPSWR

PS this happened after we did Microsoft livecare free scan and implemented corrective actions (malware/virus deletions); it then prompted us to reboot, then indicated new Windows updates to install, and then it prompted us to re-install IE7
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
lspswr,

Can you please more accurately describe your situation, providing error messages etc, so I may better assist you with your problem.

For example, do you get any messages when trying to connect to http:// websites? If not, what happens?
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
just says

Internet explorer cannot display the webpage

Most likely causes:
- You are not connect to the Intenet.
- The website is encountering problems.
- There might be a typing error in the address.

What you can try:

- Diagnose Connection Problems
- More information

--------------
If i choose "diagnose" it indicates successful connection to ftp.microsoft.com an https is also successful to microsoft.com but http yields "error 12029" as does connecting to hotmail.com
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
You may try checking out this Microsoft KB Article.

If no suggestions from that article work, i suggest you uninstall and reinstall Internet Explorer, but before I provide instructions to do so, what operating system are you running on this computer?
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
Okay, please see this article for information on uninstalling Internet Explorer 7.

Once you have verified that IE7 has been succesfully uninstalled, ensure you can visit web pages using IE6. If so, you can proceed to reinstall IE7 by downloading the package from here.
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
interesting....in "add or remove programs" for Windows IE7, no "remove" button comes up. All other apps have this button.

????
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
There are 2 methods listed in that article. Since method 1 was not sufficient for you, keep scrolling to method 2. Here, for your convenience i will provide it here:

Step 1: Make hidden files and hidden folders visible


  1. Click Start, and then click My Documents.
  2. On the Tools menu, click Folder Options.
  3. Click the View tab.
  4. In the Advanced settings list, under Hidden files and folders, click Show hidden files and folders, and then click OK.
Back to the top
Step 2: Uninstall Internet Explorer 7

To uninstall Internet Explorer 7, follow these steps:
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type %windir%\ie7\spuninst\spuninst.exe, and then click OK.
  3. Follow the wizard instructions to uninstall Internet Explorer 7.
Back to the top
Step 3: Verify that Internet Explorer 6 is restored

To verify that Internet Explorer 6 is restored:
  1. Click Start, and then click Run.
  2. In the Open box, type iexplore. Windows Internet Explorer opens.
  3. On the Help menu, click About Internet Explorer. The About Internet Explorer window opens.
  4. If the Version number begins with 6, you have successfully uninstalled Internet Explorer 7 and restored Internet Explorer 6
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
ok that all worked, i have uninstalled IE7 and rebooted and confirmed that i now have IE6. not clear how to reinstall IE7...?

note that my homepage still fails to open in IE6.
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
...or perhaps i just click the installation balloon...trying that now.
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
....successfully reinstalled IE7...BUT the problem persists. "internet explorer cannot display the webpage". diagnosis still indicates HTTPS access but not HTTP.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
lspswr,

Do you by any chance have another browser installed? If so, verify if you can view HTTP pages in that browser, otherwise download & install Mozilla Firefox from here and see if you can visit HTTP pages there.

You may also try flushing the DNS resolver cache:

1. Click Start and then click Run.
2. In the box type 'cmd' (no quotes) and press OK.
3. At the command prompt, type 'ipconfig /flushdns' (again, no quotes) and then press enter.
4. You should get the following message:

Windows IP Configuration
Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.


5. Close command prompt

Also just on a quick side note, do you have any download managers or other addons installed with IE?

If none of the above suggestions work, you can also try the following:

1. Click Start and then click Run.
2. In the box type 'cmd' (no quotes) and press OK.
3. At the command prompt type 'netsh winsock reset catalog' (no quotes) and press enter.
4. You should get the following message:

Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
You must restart the machine in order to complete the reset.

5. Close command prompt & restart your computer.
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
Hi Nick,

First thanks for all the patient help.

I do not have any other browsers installed. I also have no clue how to download it on my desktop since I cannot access the link you sent from my desktop. (Perhaps there is a command line based way to do it?)

The DNS and Winsock commands reacted as you expected but neither one of them fixed the issue on my desktop.

From the IE help links last night i disabled add-ons but that failed to resolve the issue. And please recall IE6 also exhibits the same issue.

Back to square one....

Thanks,
LSPSWR
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
410
lspswr,

Of course, my mistake! Is it possible by any chance to download Mozilla Firefox on another machine, and transport it to the affected machine via CD or USB?
 

lspswr

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
15
No, not really, not easily.

Is that proposal a backup way for me to get on the internet or an enabler to help fix the problem at hand?

Any other options to get IE backup?

thanks...LSPSWR
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top