1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: IEXPLORE/EXPLORER error, think its the NIC + Internet Explorer??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MoneyGuy99, Apr 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MoneyGuy99

    MoneyGuy99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    I have tried installing (and d-loading drivers) 2 different NICs. I have the ability to connect to my network with out any problems. I am also able to connect to the Internet for a brief period of time, until i get an "IEXPLORE" error:

    IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
    module <unknown> at 0000:baba473c.
    Registers:
    EAX=0047fe6c CS=0167 EIP=baba473c EFLGS=00010282
    EBX=00000000 SS=016f ESP=0058d8b8 EBP=0058d8cc
    ECX=012186ec DS=016f ESI=01212c90 FS=34ef
    EDX=01218688 ES=016f EDI=01218660 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:

    I also get an "EXPLORER" error, when trying to access folders on my computer:

    EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in
    module MSHTML.DLL at 0167:7ae0d386.
    Registers:
    EAX=00c8f4c0 CS=0167 EIP=7ae0d386 EFLGS=00010246
    EBX=00000001 SS=016f ESP=00c8f064 EBP=00c8f63c
    ECX=00000000 DS=016f ESI=00c8f388 FS=38d7
    EDX=00c8f388 ES=016f EDI=00000000 GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    8b 57 04 8b 0f 52 e8 14 da f2 ff 8b 40 24 89 46
    Stack dump:
    00c8f718 0132c270 00000001 7ad502fd 00c8f4c0 00000000 0132c270 00000001 00c8f10c 01828030 017514c4 017514c4 00c8f084 00000000 00c8fa0c bffc05b4

    And now, when I reboot my computer i get a "MSGSRV32" error as well:

    MSGSRV32 executed an invalid instruction in module MMSYSTEM.DLL at 0003:000034a6
    Registers:
    EAX=lef70001 CS=lef7 EIP=000034a6 EFLGS=00000212.........etc........

    I originally thought the problem was associated to the first NIC that i installed, however i tried installing a new NIC, and i started experiencing the same problems again. (i deleted the 1st to avoid any conflicts)

    Also, when i installed the 2nd NIC i tried to d-load some windows updates, i first tried d-loading IE v6, but it halted on me half way through, and when i check add/remove programs theres nothing there to indicate i d-loaded that update (i think could be associated to the problem?? not sure) :confused:
     
  2. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    The MSHTML.DLL page fault points to a buffer overflow problem that plaqued older versions of IE. Have you ran windows update and installed all updates?

    Also, scan for spyware which could, concievably, cause the problem.
     
  3. MoneyGuy99

    MoneyGuy99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    Yes, I tried running windows update, and the first update i was trying to install was for IE v6, for some reason it halted half-way through, and from that point on I started to experince problems. I tried re-running the update, but it continued to halt half-way through its progress (just like b/4). Thinking that part of the update was installed onto my computer, i went to add/remove programs to remove it, but nothing was there.

    So here i am reformatting my drive (again, and again), i removed my NIC this time, to verify that it wasnt corrupting any files during reformatting. I will keep u up-to-date on my progress, i thank you very much for your input, feel free to post if u think of anything :(
     
  4. MoneyGuy99

    MoneyGuy99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    Hello everyone, i promised i keep u lot updated, so here is it what i have. Like i said b/4, i started to reformat my computer, and now i am experencing .CAB errors when i try to reformat. I know my WIN 98 cd is working okay, so its nothing to do with the CD.

    So therefore, i tried doing the entire process again, from the start (deleting/ creating a new partition, and then reformatting the drive), and now, b/4 i run into any potential .CAB errors, for some reason, my CD key is not being accepted.

    Seems like my CD-ROM maybe malfunctioning (could be the reason to my original problem, maybe file are not being copied properly). Well i welcome any/all input, possible suggestions of what may be going on here??

    thanx...:)
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,922
    First Name:
    Rob
    Could also be bad RAM. Download and run this memory testor: http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
    Press T to run the extended tests.

    I have seen faulty CD drives cause lots of surprising errors like causing Windows to freeze or cuasing random errors in the system.
     
  6. MoneyGuy99

    MoneyGuy99 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    Hey everyone, just wanted to keep u up to date on my progress. Basically, i had to revert to a new computer, seemed like my motherboard/harddrive were defective. I tested my hardware on another computer and everything worked okay (except for the harddrive which i replaced), and then i tested the working parts on my original computer, and experienced the same problems. Well got it working now, thanx everyone for all your help :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/353977

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice