1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: If I can assign a drive letter, can I assign a folder letter?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Jag11, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    I'm just curious, because if we can assign a letter for a drive [for example, C:], then, can I assign a letter to a folder? Because when I save/open a file or anything like that, I can just type the letter of the drive if I want to access a drive, so I wish I could assign a letter to a folder.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    from the command line, type:

    SUBST /?

    C:\>subst /?
    Associates a path with a drive letter.

    SUBST [drive1: [drive2:]path]
    SUBST drive1: /D

    drive1: Specifies a virtual drive to which you want to assign a path.
    [drive2:]path Specifies a physical drive and path you want to assign to
    a virtual drive.
    /D Deletes a substituted (virtual) drive.

    Type SUBST with no parameters to display a list of current virtual drives.
     
  3. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    I can't understand it, I'm sorry..

    What if I want to assign X: to a folder from C:\Myfolder

    What command would I type?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Connect the mapping: SUBST X: C:\Myfolder

    To disconnect the drive/folder mapping: SUBST X: /D
     
  5. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    C:\Documents and Settings\MY_USER>subst X: C:\Myfolder
    Incorrect number of parameters - files\windows\local

    C:\Documents and Settings\MY_USER>
     
  6. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    C:\Documents and Settings\MY_USER>subst X: C:\Myfolder\NEW folder
    Incorrect number of parameters - folder

    C:\Documents and Settings\MY_USER>
     
  7. Willy Duitt

    Willy Duitt Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Before you can run the subst command that JohnWill provided - you will need to change the directory you are in to your root directory...

    Type this first and press enter: cd c:\
    Then type in the command JohnWill provided...
    (this is all assuming your OS is on your C partition/drive - mine is on F)
    .....Willy
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Since there is a space in the directory name, you need to put it in quotes. That is why you are getting the error about "folder"

    subst X: "C:\Myfolder\NEW folder"
     
  9. Willy Duitt

    Willy Duitt Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    I just checked - Bob is right - it is the space and the subst command should run from anywhere - not just from the root
     
  10. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Most command line programs, where directories or file names have spaces are used, need the quoation marks included. This is nothing new. Been around since long file names were introduced years ago.
     
  11. Willy Duitt

    Willy Duitt Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    I realize this about the spaces and using quotes - I did not notice the space until you mentioned it - The O/P's first post which I read was using a different folder name:

    C:\Documents and Settings\MY_USER>subst X: C:\Myfolder

    I was pointing out that my suggestion to change directories was not the underlying problem and submitting to your notice of the space in the second post...

    .....Willy
     
  12. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Yep, it's always helpful to get the full information of what they want to do right from the beginning. It wasn't until their fourth post that all the detaills were included. You would have seen it otherwise as well.
     
  13. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    Thanks guys it works! just one last question, can I assign other name/letters without a colon [ : ]? because my colon key is not working.
     
  14. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
  15. Jag11

    Jag11 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,244
    Wait, I found the solution. I find the Numeric Code for colon which is Alt+58

    Thanks for the help guys
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved assign drive
  1. 8biosdrive
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    136
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/393994

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice