1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[SOLVED] Imation Superdisk Drive Crash

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wrbogart, Dec 20, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wrbogart

    wrbogart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    74
    My Imation Superdisk Drive crashed. Its gone......Kaput. I still have info on the disk i would like to retrieve. Imation is out of the Superdisk technology so no help there. It will not work in a standard 3.5 floppy drive. Any suggestions?

    Next time I buy an Iomega.
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    iomega is not much better in my opinion, bought from them once, returned it, will never buy from them again. Long story

    You will have to find someone with another ls120 to get the info off the disk
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Just my two centavos, you'd be better off to buy a CDRW drive instead....media is less expensive and more people can read the files.
     
  4. wrbogart

    wrbogart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks for the advice. Does anyone know of someone with another SuperDisk Drive? I don't. I live way out here in the boonies of Indiana. Most of them would think its another model of the the Dodge Ram.

    Seriously, I will pay to have the info retrieved to a CD. They can contact me on here an I will email them direct.

    Bill
     
  5. wrbogart

    wrbogart Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 1999
    Messages:
    74
    My thanks to those who offered help with this problem, but I put on the Krell thought elevating helmet from the movie "The Forbidden Plant" and I figured it all out. Burp!

    It seems that the Imation website says you cannot plug the drive supply into a power strip. It has to be plugged directly into a wall outlet. Strange..........I have had it plugged into a power strip for 3 years and this problem just turns up????

    It may have been the fact that I just upgraded to Win98. I did have to upgrade the drivers from the Imation website for Win98 also. Yeah so I'am slow. I like to wait till everyone else gets the bugs out till I upgrade

    Anyway, thanks again for all the help

    Bill
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [SOLVED] Imation Superdisk
  1. mandy24
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    196
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62406

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice