Tech Support Guy banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Solved: Important Website runs extremely slow IE7

691 views 1 reply 1 participant last post by  audrei 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

The most recent problem I am having is that I can't use the one web site that is essential to my work. I am a Realtor and I have to use the MLS system on armls.marketlinx.com. The site runs so slow that it is completely useless, taking like 15 minutes to load and then 10 minutes to switch pages. Everything else works fine and loads at a normal pace, but the ARMLS web site takes 10 or 15 minutes to open a screen after the initial logon which proceeds as normal.

Most other web sites run at a normal speed on this computer. I have put it in the trusted sites zone for my firewall and Internet Explorer and enabled cookies for it, and I have dumped the temporary internet files but it still runs ridiculously slow. If I bring it up on my husbands computer it runs fine, but this is too inconvenient to have to work at his desk when all my stuff is on my desk. His computer is on the same home network in the same room as mine.

As for my computer, it is 2 1/2 years old.

I guess I will have to fill you in with the "long version" ... but don't say I didn't warn you.

It is a Gateway 3 GHz with 1 GB RAM, running XP Media Center. I also have an HP 3GHz with 2GB RAM with XP Media Center that I try to keep running for my husband, and a whole room full of ancient obsolete machines dating all the way back to windows 95. The HP is only 6 months old refurb.

The two are networked together with a Netgear wireless router using the wired ports and Cox broadband access.