1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: In need of help urgently

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jamie0812, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jamie0812

jamie0812 Thread Starter

Hey guys, im a first time builder and i just purchased a Cooler Master 500W 12V Elite Power 500 Power Supply Unit.

I did not recieve a power cable with this, and i have sucessfully built a PC. i tried using a 250V/5A power cord on an old PSU, which required a 230V input, but sparks flew out. So does the coolmaster, but i do not want to risk frying inside

i would be much abliged for any help on how to resolve this matter thank you

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    sounds like the unit is a) faulty or b) was set to use 110V - i dont know if there is a setting on the back to switch between 110V / 240V

cant see on the images on the web - but usually a slide switch on the back of the unit - anything on yours at all ?

3. jamie0812

jamie0812 Thread Starter

I have checked and there is no swtich apart from the on and off switch on the front of the product. it says input should be 7A 220-240v~ and 50HZ the input i am using is 5A however and is 250V, i dont know if this has anything to do with it.

4. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a fuse in the plug ? thats 5A - most UK supplies are 13A sockets

if it pulls more than 5A then it should just have blown the fuse -

of what ?

5. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

OK, there is some misunderstandings here;
    1 You are using a cord that is rated @5amp @250V. Just because it is rated at those values does not mean that is what it is suppling. If you have that cord plugged into a socket that delivers 120V, then that is all you are going to get; 120V not 250V, 230V or whatever.