1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: In Safe Mode - Still Cannot Format Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by millsjay, Mar 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. millsjay

    millsjay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    See attached jpg for question and screen snap shots. System Info below

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8188 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 608359 MB, Free - 437860 MB; D: Total - 2047 MB, Free - 1016 MB; F: Total - 72316 MB, Free - 62651 MB; H: Total - 1430796 MB, Free - 1421870 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc, 0PP150
    Antivirus: Lavasoft Ad-Watch Live! Anti-Virus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Boot with the 75GB drive disconnected from the motherboard. My guess is you'll get some kind of error which should indicate how the drive is being used.
     
  3. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,720
    In your screen shot, it says there's a page file located on drive F:. Relocate the page file to another drive: Computer > Properties > Advanced System Settings > Performance Settings > Advanced tab > Virtual Memory Change button.
     
  4. millsjay

    millsjay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks lunarlander, Changing the page file worked! To DoubleHelix I want to thank you too, however, I wanted to stay away from touching the hardward, software is so much easier when you know what to do. On that note "How many programmers does it take to change a light bulb? The answer: None it is a hardware issue.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Safe Mode
  1. bschlag99
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    131
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1047382

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice